Taylor County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Taylor County

Guide to Taylor County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Grafton
Organized: January 19, 1844
Parent County(s): Harrison, Barbour, Marion[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barbour  • Harrison  • Marion  • Monongalia  • Preston
See County Maps
Courthouse
Taylor County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-taylor.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for John Taylor of Caroline. The County has Grafton as its seat and the County was created January 19, 1844. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Taylor County Courthouse
214 W Main Street
Grafton, WV 26354-1387
Phone: 304-265-1401
Taylor County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate and land records from 1853.
Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and court records.

Taylor County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1853 1853 1844 1853 1853 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Taylor County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 5,367
1860 7,463 39.1%
1870 9,367 25.5%
1880 11,455 22.3%
1890 12,147 6.0%
1900 14,978 23.3%
1910 16,554 10.5%
1920 18,742 13.2%
1930 19,114 2.0%
1940 19,919 4.2%
1950 18,422 −7.5%
1960 15,010 −18.5%
1970 13,878 −7.5%
1980 16,584 19.5%
1990 15,144 −8.7%
2000 16,089 6.2%
2010 16,895 5.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Taylor census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • 1844-1970 Land records on film and book at FHL covering 1844 to 1970: FHL Catalog

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Taylor County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

  • A History of Taylor County, West Virginia. Includes indexes after the topical histories and the family histories. Contains a history of the county and a large section of family histories. Includes roster of the dead at Grafton National Cemetery and wartime deaths of Taylor County serviceman. Taylor County Historical and Genealogical Society (Grafton, West Virginia).

Maps and Gazetteers

Monongalia CountyPreston CountyBarbour CountyHarrison CountyMarion CountyWV TAYLOR.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Taylor served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Taylor County:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company C.
- 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company A (Letcher Guard), Captain George W. Hansbrough's Company.[6]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Taylor County Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc.
    P O Box 522
    Grafton, WV 26354

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Taylor County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taylor_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Taylor County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Taylor County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taylor_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 29 August 2018.
  6. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.