To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Tattenhall, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tattenhall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tattenhall, Cheshire
St Alban's Church, Tattenhall Cheshire.jpg
St Alban's Church, Tattenhall Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malpas
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TATTENHALL (St. Alban), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Golborn-Bellow and Newton, it is 5¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Tarporley. The township is intersected by the Chester and Crewe railway.  Besides the church, there are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Tattenhall St Alban's is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire and includes Golbourn [Golbourne] Bellow and Newton by Tattenhall. 

It is thought that a church may have existed on this site at the time of the Norman conquest. The tower and parts of the present church date from the early 16th century. The church was restored and largely remodelled in 1869–1870 by John Douglas.

The settlement of Tatenale was recorded in the Domesday Book of 1086. The name is believed to be derived from the Old English personal name Tata and halh, meaning "a meadow". The spelling of the village has altered over the centuries: Tatenhala (1280), Tattenhall (1289), Tatnall (1473), Tottenhall (1553) and Tettenhall (1649).

Tattenhall is a village and civil parish, 8 miles south-east of Chester, in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Tattenhall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Tattenhall Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1654-1909
1656-1910
1654-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1654-1909
1656-1910
1654-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Tattenhall, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1796. Registers of baptisms 1798–1853 and baptisms, marriages and burials 1955–1962 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Tattenhall, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded in 18th century, closed in 1937.
  • Tattenhall, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1809, rebuilt in 1898, closed in 1979. Registers 1926–1979 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records, 1798-1935 Tattenhall Congregational Church (Independent)

Record contains baptisms, 1928-1935, marriages, 1929-1934, death, 1930, baptisms, 1798-1851, 1798-1820.
Cheshire Record Office Reference: EUC 3151/58/1-2

Other Content FHL Film
Church records BRITISH 1736979 Items 5-6

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 341/6192 Tattenhall Primitive Methodist Chapel records
Date 1904-1957
 Papers relating to trustees, including list of trustees, 1956

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 262 Tattenhall Primitive Methodist Chapel
Date 1926-1979 Register of marriages

History The chapel was built in 1898 on the site of an earlier one built in 1809, and closed in 1979.

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 306 Tattenhall Lanes Wesleyan Chapel Date 1863-1955  Administrative and financial records  A chapel was built before 1800. A new building was erected in 1863. This was closed in 1937 and subsequently sold. Extent 7 files 

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Tattenhall on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 10 April 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 354, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 324–328