Tatham Fells, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Tatham Fells, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Tatham Fells, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Caton Gilbert Union|
|Parish registers: 1745|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1812|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
Tatham Fells was created a chapel of ease in 1737 from, and lying within the boundaries of Tatham Ancient Parish; and situated in Lowgill. A large part of the parish of Tatham is an upland area, known as Tatham Fells, which includes the largest settlement in Tatham, Lowgill; its highest point, at Ward's Stone; and the Great Stone of Fourstones, known locally as "The Big Stone".
Lowgill is a hamlet within the Forest of Bowland.
The Forest of Bowland is a sparsely inhabited Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with sheep farming and steep narrow unclassified roads passing between settlements and isolated farms.
The present church was built in the 1880's; the site of the altar of the previous chapelry is marked in the churchyard by a stone cross.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
"TATHAM-FELL, a chapelry, with Lowgill village, in Tatham parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles S by W of High Bentham r. station, and 5 ESE of Hornby. Post town, Wray, under Lancaster. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £125. Patron, the Rector of Tatham. The church was built in 1745. There is a parochial school."
rom: John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870)
A Vision of Britain through Time includes a large library of local statistics for administrative units. For the best overall sense of how the area containing Tatham Fells has changed, please see our redistricted information for the modern district of Lancaster. More detailed statistical data are available under Units and statistics, which includes both administrative units covering Tatham Fells and units named after it.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church of England
Tatham Fells chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Tatham St James The Less to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following websites and ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|TATHAM FELL GOOD SHEPHERD Chapelry (1572) Indexes|
|TATHAM ST JAMES THE LESS PARISH (1558) Indexes (ancient parish containing TATH FELLS Chapelry)|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Tatham Fells and comprising the whole ancient parish of Tatham St James The Less to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the TATHAM ST JAMES THE LESS PARISH page.
Parish registers for Melling, 1625- Microfilm of original records in the Lancashire Record Office, Preston, England.
Lancshire Record Office no.: PR 2898/1/1-12; PR 3326/1/1.
|Baptisms, 1625-1643, 1661-1671, 1675-1718; marriages, 1636-1642, burials, 1627, 1675, marriages, 1662-1752, burials, 1629-1653-1661-1721 (all badly damaged); Baptisms, 1720-1781, marriages, 1752-1754; Baptisms (includes records for Hornby, Arkholme, Tatham (Tatham-Fells?) Chapels), 1781-1812; Baptisms, 1813-1865; Marriages, 1754-1837; Burials, 1722-1908; Banns, 1823-1951; Marriages, 1837-1920.
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1849660 Items 12 - 24
Bishop's transcripts for Tatham, 1676-1872 Text in Latin and English.
Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Includes records for chapelry of Tatham-fell 1813-1836, 1862-1865 (baptisms and burials).
Tatham-Fell is a chapelry in the parish of Tatham.
|Baptisms and burials, 1676-1872; marriages, 1676-1837.
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1068753 Items 2 - 3
Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870)
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above..