Tansley, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Tansley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Tansley Holy Trinity Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Bakewell|
|Parish registers: 1840|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1842|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Tansley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Tansley Holy Trinity (1840) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1890-1912
Tansley Holy Trinity The township was originally in Crich, Derbyshire parish but was formed as a separate parish in 1854. In 1855 transferred from Matlock, Derbyshire Riber, Matlock Cliff and Lumsdale.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D3395 has deposited registers Bap 1840-1996 Mar 1841-200 Burials 1840-1990 Banns 1864-1994
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1839-1878 Mar none Burials 1840-1878
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Tansley on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 297-300. Date accessed: 25 June 2013.