Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 6, 1869|
|Address||100 N Bay St. |
Amite, LA 70422
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Bible Records
- 5.3 Biographies
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Acolapissa word meaning ear of corn or those who gather corn. The County has Amite City as its seat and the County was created 6 March, 1869. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
- 1869--Tangipahoa Parish was created 6 March 1869 from Livingston, St. Tammany, St. Helena, and Washington Parishes.
Parish seat: Amite 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
- Amite County, Mississippi
- Pike County, Mississippi
- St. Helena
- St. John the Baptist
- St. Tammany
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Tangipahoa Parish Family Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Index to Tangipahoa Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Tangipahoa Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Tangipahoa Parish Family Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Tangipahoa Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
|Tangipahoa Parish Census Data|
- Index to Tangipahoa Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Census Images Project)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana, by city (Church Angel)
- Index to Tangipahoa Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Court[edit | edit source]
- Index to Tangipahoa Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Index to Tangipahoa Parish Deed Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Archives)
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Honor List of Dead and Missing Army & Army Air Forces Personnel, Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Newspaper List, listing by name/parish (USNPL)
- Louisiana Newspaper listing (Newslink)
- Tangipahoa Parish News Articles (Genealogy Trails)
- Tangipahoa Newspaper Marriage Notices (Genealogy Trails)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Alphabetical Index to Tangipahoa Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Tangipahoa Parish Obituary Indexes by date. (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to Tangipahoa Parish Obituary Collections by newspaper and date. (USGenWeb Archives)
- Tangipahoa Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- Index to Tangipahoa Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Tangipahoa Parish Historical Society
77139 N. River Road
Kentwood, LA 70444-3841
- Louisiana Historical Society
- Louisiana Historical Association
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Tangipahoa Parish (LAGenWeb)
- Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Tangipahoa Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tangipahoa_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana p 293 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- United States Census Bureau. "Tangipahoa Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22105.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02. . Hurricane Katrina,which in 2005 wreaked severe damage east and south of Tangipahoa Parish, caused a surge in immigration from the Greater New Orleans area.
- United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.