To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Whitegate, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Whitegate parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Whitegate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1565-1909
1565-1910
1565-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1565-1909
1565-1910
1565-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Whitegate St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Whitegate St Mary Parish (1565) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1883-1906
1838-1906

CPR 1565-1871
1565-1871
1565-1871
FS PR's 1565-1909
  NONE
1565-1934
  NONE
1565-1951
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1909
  NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1600-1912
  NONE
JOIN
1565-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Whitegate, Cheshire, 1565-1951 
Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office no.: P52/1-4, P52/8/1-2.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1565-1883. Marriages, 1565-1752, 1754-1837. Burials, 1565-1845. Burials in woollen, 1678-1729. BRITISH 2106822 Items 2 - 9
Baptisms, 1883-1932; Marriages, 1838-1929. BRITISH 1736872
Marriages, 1929-1942. Burials, 1845-1951. BRITISH 1736873 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts Whitegate, 1600-1912
Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.Records are not in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing.Cheshire Record Office no.: ECC/219 Bishop's transcripts Whitegate,

1600-1912 

Bishop's transcripts  Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1601, 1604, 1607-1609, 1611, 1614-1616, 1618, 1620, 1623-1626, 1630-1631, 1633-1641, 1659-1665, 1670-1677, 1679-1709, 1711-1713. BRITISH 1736166 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1713-1837.Baptisms, burials, 1838-1847, 1849-1853, 1879, 1892-1898, 1900-1912. BRITISH 1736167 Item 1

Complete Transcripts of the parish can be found online as part of the Cheshire Parish Register project.

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

FamilySearch