To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Sunderland, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Sunderland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Durham Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[1]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr Img = England, Durham Diocese, Calendar of Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1594-1815 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Sunderland Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1559-1800s
1558-1800s
1559-1800s
JOIN

1719-1837


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Marr Img


1594-1815

FS Marr

1692-1900


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1559-1999
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.

Old Parish Table[edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/246 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records which is undertaking engineering work to correct the present gaps in images and the insertion into the collection of parish records in the original image assembly for Wallsend parish Northumberland. The online images for Wallsend baptisms can be located at image 119 of 1412 in the Sunderland images and begin with the year January 1813(DDR/EA/PBT/2/259/112). The sequence then continues until image 695 of 1412 which shows burial register for 1833 (DDR/EA/PBT/2/259/715). The Sunderland transcripts then resume at image 696 with a title page and 1770 burials for Sunderland.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1719-1988 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Su.HT).

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Sunderland are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Deptford 1845-1948 (EP/Su.SA EP/BiW).
  • Grangetown 1907-1981 (EP/Gra).
  • Hendon, St. Ignatius 1889-1968 (EP/SuSIg).
  • Hendon, St. Paul 1852-1969 (EP/Su.SPa).
  • Middle Hendon 1876-1967 (EP/Su.SB).
  • Pallion, St. Luke 1869-1975 (EP/Pa)

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

  1. Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch