Talk:Stockport, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

For church records see:


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Stockport St Mary the Virgin registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
Stockport St Mary the Virgin Parish (1584) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1906
1813-1891


FS PR's
1584-1910
 NONE
1584-1934
 NONE
1584-1859
 NONE
FS BT'S
1605-1835
 NONE
1605-1837
 NONE
1617-1877

FMP (£)
  KN
  KN
 KN
 KN
1584-1913
1584-1913
NBI



1584-1913
TGEN 1584-1620
1584-1620
1584-1620

Bramhall registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BRAMHALL Chapel Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1814




Stockport Portwood St Paul registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

STOCKPORT PORTWOOD ST PAUL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1851-1971

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers of St. Mary's Church, Stockport, 1584-1901 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P14/1/2-11, P14/2/1-8, P14/3435/2/1-4, P14/4616/1, P14/3435/1, P14/3/1-17, P14/3435/3/1-24, P14/4616/2-3, P14/4/1-5, P14/3790/1-2, P14/4649/1-6, P14/5/1-8, P14/3435/4/1-2.

Parish Registers: St. Mary's Church, Stockport Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1584-1629.
2146002 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1629-1673.
2145836 Items 3 - 4
Baptisms, burials, 1673-Aug. 1770; marriages, 1673-Mar. 1754.
2145837
Baptisms, burials, June 1770-1791. Baptisms, 1792-Sep. 1817.
2145838
Baptisms, Sep. 1817-Mar. 1835.
2146000
Baptisms, Mar. 1835-June 1877.
2146001
Baptisms, June 1877-Feb. 1890.
2146002 Items 1 - 2
Marriages and banns, Apr. 1754-Sep. 1768.
2146002 Item 4
Marriages and banns, Sep. 1768-Oct. 1776. Marriages, Oct. 1776-Oct. 1800.
2146003
Marriages, Oct. 1800-Feb. 1819.
2145993
Marriages, Feb. 1819-Nov. 1837.
2145994
Marriages, Nov. 1837-July 1846.
2146027
Marriages, July 1846-Oct. 1853.
2146028
Marriages, Oct. 1853-Oct. 1860.
2146029
Marriages, Oct. 1860-Nov. 1868.
2146030
Marriages, Nov. 1868-June 1878.
1941827
Marriages, June 1878-July 1892. Marriage banns, Oct. 1788-June 1793; baptisms, 1847-1849.
1941828
Marriage banns, July 1809-May 1812, Feb. 1816-Nov. 1819 (draft registers). Marriage banns, Jan. 1830-Feb. 1835; Oct. 1887-Nov. 1915.
1941829
Marriage banns, Sep. 1928-Feb. 1955, Feb. 1835-July 1852. Burials, 1792-Dec. 1802.
1941830
Burials, Nov. 1802-Nov. 1830.
1941831
Burials, Oct. 1830-Dec. 1859.
1941832 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Stockport, 1605-1844 Microfilm of manuscripts in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.

Records are not in strict chronological order. Some years are missing

Bishops Transcripts: Stockport Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1605-1682
1751851 Item 1
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1812-1815, baptisms, marriages, 1816.
1751716 Item 2
Burials, 1816 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1816-1819
1751717
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1819-1822
1751718
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1824
1751719
Burials, 1824 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1825-1827
1751720
Burials, 1827 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1828-1830
1751721
Burials, 1830 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1833
1751722
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1837, 1839-1840 Baptisms, 1841-1844
1751723











This page appears to be a significant duplication of the page Stockport St Mary, Cheshire Genealogy. They need to be reviewed and merger or other appropriate action taken. S. Birdsong 01:58, 4 July 2015 (UTC)

Wiki Support Team

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Cheshire Coverage - (Fee)', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.