To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Shotwick, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Shotwick parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Shotwick Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1681-1909
1698-1910
1690-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1681-1909
1698-1910
1690-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Scotwick St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Shotwick St Michael and All Angels Parish (1591) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1600-1723, 1878-1896


FS PR's 1681-1909
  NONE
1698-1933
  NONE
1690-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1896
  NONE
1599-1888
  NONE
1599-1896
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Shotwick, St. Michael and All Angels (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Capenhurst, Great Saughall, Little Saughall, Shotwick and Woodbank. Registers of Baptisms 1681–1991, Marriages 1681–1992 and Burials 1681–1992 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office, where Bishop's Transcripts survive from 1591.

The Parish registers Parish registers for Shotwick, 1681-1992 Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P49/1/1-3, 2, P49/4832/1-3, P49/3/1-3, P49/5/1-2 

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1681, 1690-1940. Marriages, 1941-1971. Burials, 1941-1992. Interments in Shotwick Church new burial ground, 1873-1904. BRITISH 1999729 Items 1 - 12

The Bishop's Transcripts are on Microfilm as follows:

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Library
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1591, 1599-1600, 1605, 1607-1611, 1614, 1616-1618, 1622-1624, 1626-1627, 1630-1632, 1634, 1636-1639, 1641-1642, 1658-1661, 1669-1672, 1672, 1675-1676, 1679-1683, 1690-1691, 1694-1741, 1745-1805, 1807-1812. BRITISH 1751621 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1813-1829, 1832-1850, 1852-1863, 1867, 1866, 1865, 1864, 1868-1874, 1888. Baptisms, burials, 1830-1831, 1851, 1875-1887, 1889-1896. Burials, 1812, 1828. BRITISH
1751622
Burials, 1878-1896. Baptisms, 1879-1896. Marriages, 1888. BRITISH
1751716 Item 1

The Cheshire, Church of England christening and marriage records are available online at FamilySearch Historic Records

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

FamilySearch