To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Rainow, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Rainow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Rainow Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1681-1910
1538-1910
1797-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1765-1909
1681-1910
1797-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Rainow Holy Trinity registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Rainow Holy Trinity Parish (1765) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1765-1787, 1792-1840, 1843-1894


FS PR's 1770-1896
  NONE
1846-1934
  NONE
1797-1895
  NONE
FS BT'S 1765-1894
  NONE
1868-1868
  NONE
1822-1894
  NONE
FMP (£)  


  
1815-1959
1815-1959
NBI

1815-1959

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Rainow.
Rainow, Holy Trinity (C of E). Founded 1765 as a chapel to Prestbury, serving part of Rainow township. Registers of Baptisms 1765–1992, Marriages 1846–1941 and Burials 1815–1959 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office

Registers of Baptisms 1770–1821, Marriages 1865–1921 and Burials 1770–1821 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office Cheshire Record Office reference: P188/3116/1/1-2, P188/3116/2/1-3, P188/3176, P188/3116/3, P188/3116/8, P188/6127/1-3.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1765-1788. BRITISH 2105692 Item 15
Marriages, 1846-1941. Baptisms and burials, 1770-1821. Burials, 1822-1895. Marriages, 1865-1921 (Saltersford-with-Kettleshulme). BRITISH 2105693 Items 1 - 8
Baptisms, 1841-1992. Banns of marriages, 1847-1957. Burials, 1895-1959. BRITISH 2262784 Items 4 - 6

Saltersford, St. John the Baptist. A chapel to Prestbury, created a separate parish in 1864 to serve Kettleshulme and part of Rainow township. The chapelry at Saltersford is called Saltersford-cum-Kettleshulme, and contains Kettleshulme and Rainow. It is in the parish of Prestbury. Cheshire Record Office reference: P/188/3116/8.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1865-1921. Baptisms and burials, 1770-1821. BRITISH 1656554 Items 6 - 7
Burials, 1813-1984, 1996. BRITISH 2262784 Item 7

The FamilySearch Catalog contains other material for the parish.

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

FamilySearch