To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Over, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Over parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Over Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1558-1909
1559-1910
1558-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1558-1909
1559-1910
1558-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Old Parish Table[edit source]

Over St Chad parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Over St Chad Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1816-1871


FS PR's 1558-1909
  NONE
1559-1912
  NONE
1558-1917
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1876
  NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1599-1876
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Over, 1558-1929 Cheshire Record Office call number: P146/1/1-4, 2/1-5, 3/1-4, 4, 5/1-4.

Cheshire parish registers are available online in Family Search Historic Records

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1558-1700. Marriages, 1558-1700. Burials, 1558-1733. BRITISH 2105096 Items 6 - 7
Baptisms, 1700-1911. Marriages, 1700-January 1783. Burials, 1732-1812. BRITISH 2105305
Marriages, February 1772-1912. Marriage banns, 1863-1929. Burials, 1813-November 1848. BRITISH 2105306
Burials, July 1848-1917. BRITISH 2105307 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Over, 1588-1876  Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts are available online in FamilySearch Historic Records Cheshire Record Office number: EDB/162

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1588, 1600, 1607, 1609, 1613-1615, 1617-1620, 1623-1630, 1633-1637, 1641, 1658-1660, 1662-1666, 1668-1671, 1673-1677, 1679-1685, 1687-1689, 1696-1763, 1766-1818. BRITISH 1751482 Items 2 - 5
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1816-1833. BRITISH 1751483
Burials, 1833. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1834-1837.  Baptisms, burials, 1838-1871. BRITISH 1751484
Burials, 1871-1876. Baptisms, 1872-1876. BRITISH 1751485 Item 1

Note that the change of Over to Winsford involves the later church of  Christ Church, Winsford, which  became known as St. Chad's, Over in 1939. That church has records at Chester Record Office number P318.

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

FamilySearch