To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Macclesfield St Michael, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Macclesfield St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Macclesfield St Michael Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1572-1909
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1572-1909
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Macclesfield St Michael chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Macclesfield St Michael Chapelry (1572) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1572-1871
1572-1871
1572-1871
FS PR's 1572-1909
  NONE
1572-1934
  NONE
1572-1868
  NONE
FS BT'S 1608-1892
  NONE
1682-1837
  NONE
1607-1834
  NONE
JOIN

1572-1837


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The ancient parish which included Macclesfield was Prestbury (see history of the parish)

Macclesfield, St Michael's

Macclesfield, St Peter 

Macclesfield, Christ Church, Cheshire

Sutton,near Macclesfield,Cheshire

Macclesfield, St Paul, Cheshire

Macclesfield, St John the Evangelist, Cheshire

Chorley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CHORLEY PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1853-1906
1866-1906


 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Michael's Church, Macclesfield, 1572-1960 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P85/1/1-11, P85/2/1-13, P85/3/1-7, P85/4/1-11, P85/5/1-4, P85/7/1-2, P85/6/1, P85/8/1, 3, P85/15, P85/5541/1-8, 13.

Parish Registers: St. Michael's Church Film
Early registers (baptisms, marriages, burials), 1572-1704 (includes index to early registers, 1699-1754).
2105801 Items 6 - 11
Early registers (baptisms, marriages, burials), 1704-1712. Index to early registers, 1699-1754. Early registers (baptisms, marriages to 1756, burials), 1712-1770 (3 registers). Baptisms and burials, 1771-1812 (3 registers). Baptisms, 1813-1815 (to 4 June).
2105906
Baptisms, 1815-1836.
2105907
Baptisms, 1836-1869.
2105908
Baptisms, 1869-1888. Marriages, 1835-1857.
2105909
Marriages, 1857-1894. Marriage banns, 1835-1864.
2105910
Marriage banns, 1864-1948. Burials, 1813-1837.
2105911
Burials, 1837-1873. Church pew list, 1742. Church pew rent accounts, 1838-1882. Gown user list, 1859-1866. Marriage papers, 1854, 1882.
2105912 Items 1 - 6
Baptisms at the Crompton Road School room, 1861-1896.
2106063 Item 2
Baptisms, 1876-1912.
2262785 Items 8 - 9
Marriages, 1894-Nov. 1945 (1894-1905 filmed out of sequence).
2262786
Marriages, Nov. 1945-1951. Banns of marriages, 1948-1960.
2262787 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for St. Michael's Church, Macclesfield, 1586-1892 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 137.

Bishops Transcripts: St. Michael's Church Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1586, 1608, 1600, 1605, 1615, 1617, 1611, 1619, 1790, 1620, 1622-1623, 1625-1626, 1628-1637, [no date], 1641, 1663-1680, 1682-1685.
1656845 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1685, 1683, 1682, 1681, 1680, 1679, 1678, 1676-1677, 1674-1675, 1673-1674, 1672-1673, 1671, 1670, 1669, 1668, 1687, [1686?], [no date], 1689-1697, 1700-1704, 1706, 1708-1717, [no date], [1719?], 1720, [1721?], 1722, [no date], 1726-1727, 1730, 1725, 1728-1754, baptisms, burials, 1755-1768, 1766-1772.
1656950
Baptisms, burials, 1772-1790, 1794, 1793, 1792, 1791, 1795, 1802, 1801, 1803, 1799, 1798, 1797, 1796, 1804, 1806, 1805, 1809, 1808, 1807, 1810-1821, baptisms, 1822-1823, burials, 1822-1823, baptisms, burials, 1824-1825, burials, 1826.
1656951
Baptisms, burials, 1826-1828, baptisms, 1827 (refilmed), baptisms, burials, 1829-1835, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1836.
1656952
Burials, 1836, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1837, baptisms, burials, 1838-1845, baptisms, 1884-1885, 1889-1892.
1656953
  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

FamilySearch