To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Huddersfield, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Huddersfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Huddersfield Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

Old Parish Table[edit source]

Huddersfield, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FMP = findmypast (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HUDDERSFIELD ST PETER PARISH (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1562-1910 1562-1910 1562-1935 1562-1935 1562-1925 1562-1925
FMP 1749-1819 None None None None None
FS 1566-1824 None 1724-1824 None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD All Saints Parish (1830) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 174 None None None None None
FS 1835-1841 None 14 None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD Holy Trinity Parish (1819) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 10 110 15 135 25 25
FMP
None None None None None
FS
None
None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD St Andrew Parish (1871) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP





FS
None
None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD St John Parish (1852) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP
None None None None None
FS
None
None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD St Mark Chapelry  (1887) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC [1]



[2]
FMP
None None None None None
FS 4 None 14 None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD St Thomas Chapelry (1859) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC [3]



[4]
FMP 179 None None None None None
FS 154 None 17 None Add None
Golcar Chapelry (1829) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP
None None None None None
FS 24 None 14 None Add None
Lindley Chapelry (1830) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 174 None None None None None
FS 15 None 14 None Add None
  Longwood Chapelry (1797) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP
None None None None None
FS 1813-1870 None None
None Add None
Marsden Chapelry (1734) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 174 None None None None None
FS 15 None 14 None Add None
Paddock Chapelry (1830) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 174 None None None None None
FS 15 None 14 None Add None
Scammonden Chapelry (1746) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 119 None None None None None
FS 14 None 14 None Add None
Slaithwaite Chapelry (1684) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 9 None None None None None
FS 1684-1894 None 1684-1745 None Add None
Woodhouse Chapelry (1824) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP





FS
1824-1843 None 1825-1840
None Add None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Church Records of the Poor[edit source]

Here are three important West Yorkshire database sets at Ancestry, which provide data on some of the poor living within some of the boroughs in the (West) Riding of Yorkshire:

  1. West Yorkshire, England, Select Removal and Settlement Records, 1689-1866
  2. West Yorkshire, England, Select Poor Law and Township Records, 1663-1914
  3. West Yorkshire, England, Bastardy Records, 1690-1914


  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  3. Huddersfield and District Baptisms Collection

FamilySearch