To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Great Budworth, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Great Budworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Great Budworth Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1559-1909
1559-1910
1558-1892
FMP Diocese BTs 1559-1909
1559-1910
1558-1892
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Great Budworth St. Mary and All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Great Budworth St. Mary and All Saints Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1605-1900
1866-1906

CPR 1559-1871
1559-1871
1558-1871
FS PR's 1559-1909
  NONE
1559-1934
  NONE
1558-1892
  NONE
FS BT'S 1605-1900   NONE
1612-1837
  NONE
1605-1900
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Great Budworth exist, 1558-1956. Some Latin in early registers.

Call numbers for parish registers in the Cheshire Record Office are: P41/1/1-4, P41/2/1-4, P41/3315/1, P41/3997/1, P41/3997/4-7, P41/3/1-15, P41/4/1-7, P41/5/1-4. Film copies in the Family History Library (FHL) are listed in the following table.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1734. 2262979
Baptisms, 1734-1923 (fire damage to registers, 1734-1812). Marriages, 1734-1754 (fire damage). 2262980
Marriages, July 1841-1884, 1893-1912. 2262982
Marriages, 1884-1893, 1912-1956. Banns of marriages, 1754-June 1840. 2298975
Banns of marriages, May 1840-1950. Burials, 1734-1839. 2298976
Burials, 1839-1892. 2298977 Item 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Great Budworth, 1605-1900 Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 97.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials 1605-1608, 1612-1614, 1617-1622, 1625-1631, 1634, 1638-1642, 1658-1660, 1662, 1665-1671, 1673-1685, 1690-1738, 1741-1833. 1655825
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1756. 1894725 Item 1
Marriages, burials, 1833. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1834-1837. Baptisms, burials, 1838, 1840-1844, 1870-1900. 1655826 Item 1
  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.

FamilySearch