To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Frodsham, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

St Laurence Frodsham interior

Frodsham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Frodsham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1558-1909
1677-1910
1558-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1558-1909
1677-1910
1558-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

St Laurence Frodsham interior.jpg

Frodsham St Lawrence parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
Frodsham St Lawrence Parish (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1863-1877


FS PR's 1557-1911
  NONE
1627-1934
  NONE
1558-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1639-1877   NONE
1660-1837
  NONE
1639-1877
  NONE
PALL
1790-1812

The following records are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office;

  • Parish registers for Frodsham, 1558-1963. CRO call numbers: P8/1, 2619/1/1-3, 2619/2/1-11, 2619/8/3/1-12, 2619/4/1, 2619/5/1-7.
  • Bishop's transcripts for Frodsham, 1603-1877.

The following records are on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City:

Parish registers content FHL Film #
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1754. Marriages, 1792-1801. Burials, 1755-1812. Baptisms, 1755-1834. 2104547 Items 6 - 11
Baptisms, 1834-1963. Banns of marriages, 1754-1769. 2104548
Banns of marriages, 1768-1781. Marriages, 1781-1792, 1801-1910. 2104549
Marriages, 1910-1951. Banns of marriages, 1806-1855. Burials, 1813-1885. 2104550
Burials, 1885-1952. 2104551 Items 1 - 5


Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film #
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1603-1821. 1655670 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1837; baptisms, 1838-1863; burials, 1850-1856. 1655671
Baptisms 1863-1877, burials, 1855-1877. 1655672 Item 1
  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.

FamilySearch