To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Christleton, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Christleton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[1]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Christleton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1600-1909
1600-1910
1600-1910
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Old Parish Table[edit source]

Christleton St James the Apostle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Christleton St James the Apostle Parish (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1701-1812

FS PR's 1600-1909
  NONE
1600-1934
  NONE
1668-1969
  NONE
FS BT'S 1787-1859   NONE
1699-1840
  NONE
1666-1840
  NONE
JOIN
1698-1812

PALL
1790-1812

TGEN
1697-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Christleton, 1697-1969 Cheshire Record Office call number: P 28/1/1-2, P 28/2/1-3, P 28/3/1-7, P 28/4, P 28/5/1-5.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1755-1812. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1754. Burials in woollen, 1678-1689. BRITISH
2069042 Items 7 - 10
Baptisms, 1813-1928. Marriages, 1754-1812, 1814-1948. Banns of marriages, 1883-1923. BRITISH
2069043
Burials, 1813-1969. BRITISH
2069044 Items 1 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for Christleton, 1600-1859 Early text in Latin. Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 64

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's Transcript Content Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1840. BRITISH
1655593 Item 3
Baptisms, 1841-1854.  Baptisms, burials, 1840, 1859. BRITISH
1655594 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches[edit source]

Christleton, Methodist Chapel. ReBuilt in 1888.

  1. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

FamilySearch