To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Chester St Oswald, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Chester St Oswald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chester St Oswald Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1580-1909
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1580-1909
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1838-1854, 1854-1868, 1868-1884, 1880-1894
1754-1770


FS Catalog PRs
1581-1969
1581-1969
1581-1969
FS Catalog BTs
1603-1838
1603-1838
1603-1838

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Chester St Oswald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester St Oswald Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1810


FS PR's
1580-1909
 NONE
1581-1934
 NONE
1583-1854
 NONE
FS BT's
1699-1818
 NONE
1699-1818
 NONE
1699-1817
 NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for St. Oswald's Church, Chester, 1581-1969

Parish Registers: St. Oswald's Church, Chester Cheshire Record Office call no.: P29/1/1-6, P29/2/1-8, P29/3/1-23, P29/16/1-3, P29/4/1-5. Film
Baptisms, 1580-1668; burials, 1583-1668; marriages, 1581-1627, 1635-1668. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1668-1686. Baptisms, 1686-1717; marriages, 1686-1720; burials, 1686-1690.
2068352
Burials, 1690-1720; baptisms, 1718-1720. Baptisms, burials, 1720-1761; marriages, 1720-1755. Baptisms, burials, 1762-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1838.
2068353
Baptisms, 1838-1884, 1872-1882, 1884-1945 (Entries before 1882 relate to the the "old" parish church. From 1882 is for the new Parish Church of St. Thomas.). Marriages, 1754-1770.
2068354
Marriages, 1770-1824 (Includes banns, 1778-1812).
2068355
Marriages, 1824-1855.
2068356
Marriages, 1855-1872.
2068357
Marriages, 1872-1918.
2068520
Marriages, 1918-1969. Banns of marriages, 1856-1871, 1887-1899. Burials, 1813-1833.
2068521
Burials, 1833-1854.
2068522 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for St. Oswald's Church, Chester, 1603-1838 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 59

Bishops Transcripts: St. Oswald's Church, Chester Film
aptisms, marriages, burials 1603-1604, [no date], 1608-1619, 1622-1624.
1655539 Item 4
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1624-1625, 1636-1642, 1666-1686, 1690, 1693-1730, 1732-1770, 1772-1773, 1771-1772, 1774-1776, 1773-1774, 1776-1786, 1784-1785, 1786-1817, baptisms, 1818, marriages, (January-July) 1818.
1655540
Marriages, (July-December) 1818, burials, 1818, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1819-1821, baptisms, 1822-1824, marriages, 1822-1824, burials, 1822-1824, baptisms, 1824-1825, marriages, 1824-1825, burials, 1824-1825, baptisms, 1825-1826, burials, 1825, 1828, 1825-1826, marriages, 1825-1826, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1827-1834, baptisms, 1835-1836, marriages, 1835-1836, burials, 1835-1836, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1837, baptisms, burials, 1838.
1655592 Item 1
  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.

FamilySearch