To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Chester St John the Baptist, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Chester St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chester St John the Baptist Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1815-1897
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1815-18971906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1559-1833, 1694-1756, 1756-1807,
1829-1833, 1833-1837, 1842-1847,
1852-1858, 1858-1863, 1863-1868,
1868-1874, 1874-1878, 1878-1894

1559-1793, 1760-1795, 1800-1808


FS Catalog PRs
1559-1956
1559-1956
1559-1956
FS Catalog BTs
1599-1878
1599-1878
1599-1878

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Chester St John the Baptist, Cheshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
CHESTER ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR To 1871
To 1871
To 1871
JOIN

1559-1837


FS PR's 1815-1852  NONE   NONE  NONE  NONE  NONE
FS BT's 1694-1879  NONE  1662-1837  NONE 1663-1839  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.  Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. John's Church, Chester 1559-1956 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 51/1/1-4, P 51/2/1, 7-10, P 51/24/1-4, P 51/3/1-21, P 51/4/1-5, P 51/5/5, P 51/6.

Parish Registers St John's Church Film
Baptisms, 1559-1686; marriages, 1559-1639, 1651-1686; burials, 1560-1687; churchwardens accounts, 1660-1681. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1687-1735. Baptisms, 1735-1789; burials, 1735.
2045920 Items 2 - 4
Burials, 1735-1789; marriages, 1735-1754; baptisms, 1777. Baptisms, burials, 1790-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1829.
2045921
Baptisms, 1829-1878.
2045922
Baptisms, 1878-1908. Baptisms (St. Barnabas' mission), 1877-1918. Marriages, 1754-1795.
2045950
Marriages, 1796-1839.
2045951
Marriages, 1839-1857.
2045952
Marriages, 1857-1870.
2045953
Marriages, 1870-1886.
2045954
Marriages, 1886-1919.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2045955
Marriages, 1919-1923. Burials, 1813-1863
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2045956
Burials, 1863-1875, 1881-1915. Graveyard inscriptions, ca. 1750-1900. Copy register of baptisms and burials, 1792-1813. Baptisms, 1908-1926. Marriages, 1923-1938.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2045957 Items 1 - 5
Baptisms, 1908-1940 (another filming to 1926).
2093666 Items 3 - 4
Marriages, 1923-1938.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2262789 Item 8
Marriages, 1938-1956.
2262873 Item 1

Registers of Baptisms 1559–1940, Marriages 1559–1956 and Burials 1559–1915 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

Bishop's Transcripts Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester reference: EDB 54

Bishops Transcripts St John the Baptist's Church
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1601, 1604-1605, 1610-1614, 1617-1618, 1622-1630, 1633-1635, 1637, 1662-1663, 1677-1691, 1693-1722, 1725-1728, 1731, 1733-1736, 1739-1742, 1744-1766, 1769-1796, 1798-1808 BRITISH 1655480 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1808-1839, baptisms, 1875-1878
BRITISH 1655481 Item 1
  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

FamilySearch