To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Alnwick, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Alnwick parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Northumberland, Parish Registers, 1538-1950 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Misc = England, Northumberland, Cumberland, Durham, Miscellaneous Records, 969-2007 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Northumberland Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[1]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Alnwick Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1950
1538-1950
1538-1950
FS Marr

1692-1900


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Misc
969-2007
969-2007
969-2007
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1574-1991
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Northumberland Archives.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/6 October 1777- 1890 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Engineers are investigating two cut off images in this parish. Image 806 of 1516 and 1002 of 1516 relate to:

Marriage entries 1830 numbers 609-620 on transcript DDR/EA/PBT/646

Burial entries 1837 numbers 25-40 in transcript DDR/EA/PBT/840-841 

The image collection for this parish may need to be reloaded in future.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Alnwick, St Michael: Records of baptisms 1645-1967, marriages 1646-1987 and burials 1646-1992 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1645-1812 and marriages 1646-1812 for this parish. Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1646-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1645-1812 and marriages and burials 1646-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Noncormist Records[edit source]

St Mary, Bailiffgate (Roman Catholic): Records of births/baptisms 1794-1950, marriages 1846-1938 and deaths 1856-1978 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The I.G.I. includes births/baptisms 1794-1840 and some marriages.

 The following nonconformist records are available at Northumberland Collections Service.

  •  Alnwick 'A' Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1940-1972
  •  Alnwick Wesleyan Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1791-1952. The I.G.I. includes baptisms 1787-1837.
  •  Bondgate (Methodist) - Baptisms 1870-1940
  •  Clayport Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1785-1838. These are included on the I.G.I.
  •  Ebenezer Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1817-1831. These are included on the I.G.I.
  • Green Batt (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1785-1954. The I.G.I. includes baptisms 1785-1838.
  •  Lisburn Street (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1878-1881.
  •  Pottergate (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1760-1836, 1904-1988. The I.G.I. includes births/baptisms 1760-1836.
  •  St Paul (Roman Catholic) - Marriages 1982.
  •  Zion Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1762-1837. These are included on the I.G.I.

The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) also includes births/baptisms 1800-1836 for Alnwick, Bethal (Methodist New Connexion). These are apparently circuit records for Alnwick M.N.C. Circuit.

Early Primitive Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Berwick-upon-Tweed P.M. Circuit. Records for 1829-1837 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Alnwick, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = FamilySearch Parish Registers - free[3]
Alnwick, Northumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs
1846-1902 1846-1939

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/6 October 1777- 1890 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Engineers are investigating two cut off images in this parish. Image 806 of 1516 and 1002 of 1516 relate to:

Marriage entries 1830 numbers 609-620 on transcript DDR/EA/PBT/646

Burial entries 1837 numbers 25-40 in transcript DDR/EA/PBT/840-841 

The image collection for this parish may need to be reloaded in future.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Alnwick, St Michael: Records of baptisms 1645-1967, marriages 1646-1987 and burials 1646-1992 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1645-1812 and marriages 1646-1812 for this parish. Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1646-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1645-1812 and marriages and burials 1646-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Noncormist Records[edit source]

St Mary, Bailiffgate (Roman Catholic): Records of births/baptisms 1794-1950, marriages 1846-1938 and deaths 1856-1978 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The I.G.I. includes births/baptisms 1794-1840 and some marriages.

 The following nonconformist records are available at Northumberland Collections Service.

  •  Alnwick 'A' Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1940-1972
  •  Alnwick Wesleyan Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1791-1952. The I.G.I. includes baptisms 1787-1837.
  •  Bondgate (Methodist) - Baptisms 1870-1940
  •  Clayport Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1785-1838. These are included on the I.G.I.
  •  Ebenezer Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1817-1831. These are included on the I.G.I.
  • Green Batt (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1785-1954. The I.G.I. includes baptisms 1785-1838.
  •  Lisburn Street (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1878-1881.
  •  Pottergate (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1760-1836, 1904-1988. The I.G.I. includes births/baptisms 1760-1836.
  •  St Paul (Roman Catholic) - Marriages 1982.
  •  Zion Meeting House (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1762-1837. These are included on the I.G.I.

The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) also includes births/baptisms 1800-1836 for Alnwick, Bethal (Methodist New Connexion). These are apparently circuit records for Alnwick M.N.C. Circuit.

 Early Primitive Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Berwick-upon-Tweed P.M. Circuit. Records for 1829-1837 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service.

  1. Searching Parish Records online (Northumberland) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.

FamilySearch