To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Talk:Allendale, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

New Parish Table[edit source]

Allendale St Cuthbert parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Northumberland, Parish Registers, 1538-1950 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Misc = England, Northumberland, Cumberland, Durham, Miscellaneous Records, 969-2007 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Northumberland Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[1]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Allendale St Cuthbert Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1950
1538-1950
1538-1950
FS Marr

1692-1900


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Misc
969-2007
969-2007
969-2007
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1574-1991
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Northumberland Archives.


Old Parish Table[edit source]

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/4 1838-1852 and 1843-April 1853 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Also available under the same reference are the Burial Ground Register transcripts for 1871-1892 for the Allendale, Alston, Edmundbyers and Haltwhistle Friends. See also Alston and Haltwhistle Friends, Edmundbyers Friends and Haltwhistle Friends.  

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Allendale, St Cuthbert: Records of baptisms 1662-1964, marriages 1662-1972 and burials 1662-1929 are available at Northumberland Collections Service   Bishops' Transcripts for the periods 1740-1770 and 1772-1842 are deposited at the Borthwick Institute University of York. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1662-1875 and marriages 1662-1877 for Allendale Parish but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms and marriages 1662-1684, burials 1662-1684, 1690-1851 and of monument inscriptions are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Allendale, St Peter in the Forest and Allenheads: Records of baptisms 1785-1952, marriages 1828-1950 and burials 1785-1959 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the periods 1792-1837, 1839 and 1840 are deposited at the Borthwick Institute University of York. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1785-1875 and marriages 1823-1876 for this parish but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of burials 1762-1825 is available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. For earlier entries see Allendale, St Cuthbert.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.