Talbot County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Talbot County

Guide to Talbot County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Easton
Organized: February 19, 1661
Parent County(s): Kent[1]
Neighboring Counties
Anne Arundel  • Calvert  • Caroline  • Dorchester  • Queen Anne's
See County Maps
Courthouse
Talbot County, Maryland Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
MD Talbot map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Lady Grace Talbot. The County has Easton as its seat and the County was created 1661. The County is located in the east central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Talbot County Courthouse
11 North Washington Street
Easton, MD 21601
Phone: 410-770-8010
Talbot County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage records from 1799, divorce and land records from 1776, court records from 1818 and land records from 1662.
Register of Wills has the probate records.[3]

Talbot County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1794 1898 1662 1668 1790

Record Loss

Many court records have been lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Talbot County, Maryland:

Towns

Communities

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Talbot County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information
  • All Saints Cemetery
  • Chapel Cemetery
  • DeShields Cemetery
  • Doverbrook Cemetery
  • Fairview Cemetery
  • Graham Cemetery
  • Hole-in-the-Wall Cemetery
  • John Wesley Cemetery
  • Kemp Cemetery
  • Kings Creek Cemetery
  • Landing Neck Cemetery
  • Merrick Cemetery
  • Old John Wesley Cem.
  • Old Paradise Cemetery
  • Old St Joseph Cemetery
  • Oxford Cemetery
  • Paradise Cemetery
  • Piney Hill Cemetery
  • Queen Esther Cemetery
  • Rattlesnake Point Cemetery
  • Readly Cemetery
  • Richland Memorial Park
  • Roberts Cemetery
  • Round Top Graveyard
  • Royal Oak Cemetery
  • St James Cemetery
  • Saint Johns Cemetery
  • Saint Lukes Cemetery
  • Saint Pauls Cemetery
  • Saint Stephens Graveyard
  • Spring Hill Cemetery
  • Third Haven Meeting Burial Ground
  • Tilghman Island Cemetery
  • Upper Bambury Cemetery
  • Walnut Grove Cemetery
  • Windy Hill Cemetery
  • Woodlawn Memorial Park
  • Wrights Cemetery
  • Wye Mills Cemetery

The Political Graveyard is a great resource for Politicians that were born, lived and died in Talbot County.

Published Transcriptions:

  • Tombstone inscriptions and map of graves at Wye House, Talbot County, Maryland [5] Tombstone inscriptions and map of graves at Wye House, Talbot County, Maryland
  • Tombstones of Talbot County [6]

For more information about Cemeteries in Maryland please refer to the Maryland Cemeteries page.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Talbot County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

  • 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index
  • Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

The following records, taken from its collection, have been digitized and made available to view for free online:

Church of England
St. Michael's Parish

Contains the church records of:
  • St. Michaels: St. Michael's Protestant Episcopal Parish

St. Peter's Parish - records have been digitized, see above.
St. Paul's Parish

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Oxford has been a port since colonial times. Unfortunately, no official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises 34,326 entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.

Other Talbot County immigration resources include:

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. Overseas correspondence of a resident of Oxford [Talbot County] with the following surname: Crookshank. Available at FHL.
  • List of imported servants and convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Talbot County, Maryland (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database. Includes Richard J. Cox's abstracts of Maryland Gazette runaways.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Barnes, Robert W., F. Edward Wright, Vernon L. Skinner and Henry C. Peden. Colonial Families of the Eastern Shore of Maryland. 23 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line, 1996-2003; Lewes, Del.: Delmarva Roots and Colonial Roots, 2007. FHL US/CAN Book 975.21 D2b v. 1 ff. Talbot County families appear in Vols. 4-5, 7, 11, 13, and 21.
  • [Banning] Armstrong, Zella. Notable Southern Families. Chattanooga, Tenn.: Lookout Publishing Company, 1918. Vol. 1. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Caulk] Russell, George Ely. "The Swedish Settlement in Maryland, 1654," The American Genealogist, Vol. 54, No. 4 (Oct. 1978):203-210. FHL 973 D25aga v. 54
  • [Neale] Neall, Harry Levy and Rosalie S. Neall Cunningham. Genealogy of the American Family of Neall: It Being a Branch of the Bedfordshire, England Family of Neale, from Whose Members, Circa 1630, Came the Emigrants Who Founded the Early American Family of Neale Who Settled at Accomack, Virginia, and Salem, Massachusetts, Some of the Succeeding Generations Finding Their Permanent Location of the Eastern Shore of Maryland: This Family History Has Its More Intimate Relationship in the Descendants of Francis Neale, a Quaker, Whose Children Changed the Spelling of Their Surname to Neall. Haywood, Calif.: R.N. Cunningham, 1969. FHL Collection 929.273 N259n
  • [Ungle] Pitman, H. Minot. "English Origin of Ungle Family of Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 29 (1953):86. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select American Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Collection 973 D25aga v. 29.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Talbot County Deed Books (1662-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Talbot County men served in the 3rd Maryland Regiment.[7]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Talbot County on pages 127-128.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Talbot County, pp. 155-156. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Talbot served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Talbot:

- 1st Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry, Company H

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

  • 1678, 1681 1678 and 1681 Talbot County tax list, available online, courtesy: MDGenWeb.
  • 1783 Talbot County Tax List of 1783: This is an alphabetical index to names to all property owners assessed. The index cards at the Maryland State Archives include county, hundred, names of tracts of land and whether individuals were paupers or single males as provided in the law.

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Talbot County Free Library
    Maryland Room
    100 W. Dover Street
    Easton, MD 21601
    Phone: 410-822-1626
    Fax: 410-820-8217
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR)
    National Headquarters
    1776 D Street NW
    Washington, D.C. 20006
    Phone: 202-628-1776
    Website
    Local DAR chapter:
    General Perry Benson Chapter
    Easton, MD
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Talbot, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talbot_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Tombstone inscriptions and map of graves at Wye House, Talbot County, Maryland; Bushey, Marjorie Lloyd Merrick, 1897- index of the Maryland Genealogical Records Committee Reports, (GRC), NSDAR Library, Series 1, vol. 144. - Family History Library FHL US/CAN Film 859279 Item 2
  6. Tombstones of Talbot County. 4 vols. 1989-1993. Available from the Upper Shore Genealogical Society. LIB 2-4-2 4 vols. 1989-1993. Available from the Upper Shore (Maryland) Genealogical Society. LIB 2-4-2
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "3rd Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3rd_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.