Talagante, Talagante, Chile Genealogy
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Commune of Talagante ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
- The Sapa Inca Pachacútec began an expansive campaign that was concluded by his heirs, setting the Maule River as the limit. The Inca commander Ilabe was established in the valley of Llollehue. There they also founded a colony and a fortress, which were left in charge of Tala Canta, the son of the Inca. In this way the name Talagante was derived.
- Once founded the capital of the Kingdom of Chile, Bartolomé Blumenthal, carpenter and builder (as well as financier of Valdivia), was commissioned to look for wood for this land. In this way Blumenthal arrived at the lands of the Inca Tala Canta fortresses, the Inca and Blumenthal came to have a great understanding. Blumenthal the Inca not only provided him with wood but also gave him labor for the construction of Santiago .. The Inca family converted to Christianity and the girlfriend of Bartolomé Blumenthal was baptized with the name of Elvira, who happened to be the new cacique Elvira de Talagante.
- Talagante was officially founded in December 1837, with the new name of Villa Santa Maria de Talagante.
- The economic activities of Talagante depended on a base of agriculture.
- The commune of Talagante has an approximate population of 65,000 people.
- Registros civiles, 1885-1932 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
- Registros parroquiales : Talagante, Talagante, 1824-1901 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
- Cementerio Parroquial de Talagante
Address: Bellavista, Talagante
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Talagante," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talagante. Visited 20 June 2017