Třeboň Regional Archives, Czech Republic Census Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Back to Czech Republic PageTřeboň Regional Archives, Czech Republic►Třeboň Regional Archives Church Records

Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png

Census Record Coverage by District and Municipality

Once you know the district of the town your ancestors lived in, this finding aid will help with a quick check to see what census records are available: The Census General Summary, a chart of districts covered by census records 1857-1921.

Step-by-Step Instructions for Using the Archives to Read Census Records

1. Go to The South Bohemian Census 1857–1921. In the left sidebar, Click on "Geographical register". It is down at the bottom.
2. Find your locality and click on it.
3. Click on the "Census" tab.
4. This will bring you to a list of census records for that locality. Below is an example. Clicking on the gray line that reads: "2730----- fasicki39----- Babice-----" will bring up the scanned census documents. Trebon census list.png

Step-by-Step Instructions for the FamilySearch Historical Records Website

Czech Republic Censuses and Inhabitant Registers, 1800-1990

1. Click on this link: Czech Republic Censuses and Inhabitant Registers, 1800-1990.
2. Select the "Browse" link in the initial search page. This is towards the bottom of the page and reads: "Browse through 3,269,966 images".
3. Select the "District." Use the Former Judicial Denomination found in the GenTeam Free Gazetteer.
4. Select the "Place."
6. Select the census "Year".
7. Click the "Archive number".
8. Search the collection by image, comparing the information with what you already know about your ancestors to determine which one is your ancestor. You may need to compare the information about more than one person to make this determination.

Reading the Records

These records are in Czech (a Slavic language) and German. For help reading the records, see the following wiki articles:

This converter will show you how any phrase or name might look in German script:

What Do I Do Next?

The census records link families together into family groups and greatly supplement the research process. They are extremely valuable in locating birthplaces, and determining ages, and relationships and lead to primary vital records sources, making them very valuable for pedigree links. Each census is important by itself, but each should also be used with church records and other censuses. A census can provide you with names and ages of family members, which can then be used to calculate birth or marriage dates. It can provide the county and town where your ancestor lived, people living with (or gone from) the family, and relatives that may have lived nearby. The census may identify persons for whom other records do not exist.

When you have located your ancestor in the census, carefully evaluate each piece of information about them. These pieces of information may give you new biographical details that can lead you to other records about your ancestors.

For example:

  • Use the age listed to determine an approximate birth date. This date along with the place of birth can help you find a birth record. Birth records often list biographical and marital details about the parents and close relatives outside of the immediate family.
  • Birth places can tell you former residences and can help to establish a migration pattern for the family.
  • If they are subject to military service, they may have military files in the State or National Archives.
  • Occupations listed can lead you to employment records or other types of records such as school records.

Tips to Keep in Mind

It is often helpful to extract the information on all families with the same surname in the same general area. If the surname is uncommon, it is likely that those living in the same area were related.

Be sure to extract all families before you look at other records. The relationships given will help you to organize family groups. The family groupings will help you identify related families when you discover additional information in other records.

Some other helpful tips to keep in mind are:

  • Married family members may have lived nearby but in a separate household so you may want to search an entire town, neighboring towns, or even a county.
  • You may be able to identify an earlier generation if elderly parents were living with or close by a married child.
  • You may be able to identify a younger generation if a young married couple still lived with one of their sets of parents.
  • Additional searches may be needed to locate all members of a particular family in the census.
  • The census may identify persons for whom other records do not exist.