Tørring Parish, Skanderborg, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Skanderborg County
Tørring

Guide to Tørring, Skanderborg, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

Until January 1, 2007 Tørring-Uldum municipality was a municipality in the former Vejle County on the Jutland peninsula in central Denmark. The site of its municipal council was the town of Uldum and the largest town in the municipality was Tørring.
Tørring-Uldum municipality, as a result of The Municipality Reform of 2007, merged with other municipalities. Most of Tørring-Uldum was merged with Juelsminde municipality and Hedensted municipality to form a new Hedensted municipality. A smaller portion of Tørring-Uldum, was split off and merged into the new Vejle municipality. The new municipalities belong to Region Midtjylland ("Mid-Jutland Region").
[1]

Tørring Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Haderslev Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Tørring-Hammer Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Skanderborg
Herred (district) Vrads
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 6
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 6
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 4/174
Gods (estate) Vrads herreds provsti; Hvolgård gods; Tyrsting Herredsret; Vrads Herredsret


Place Names

Brille,

Egholm, Egholm Mølle,

Kandborg, Kobbelgaard,

Logslund,

Melhede,

Overhede,

Plovstrup, Plovstrupgaard, Pyttenhede,

Resenhus,

Stovgaard, Stovgaards Mark,

Tejbelgaard, Tørring, Tørring Fælde, Tørring Kirkeby, Tørring Mark, Tørringskov,

Urskov

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Skanderborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Skanderborg" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Mar.,  2012.

- Trap, J.P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4de. ed. Vol. 7, Århus (now Skanderborg) Amt. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1926.