Tønder County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tønder County, Denmark)
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Denmark
Tønder County


Guide to Tønder ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History

Prior to 1864, Tønder was situated in the Duchy of Schleswig, so its history is intertwined with the history of Schleswig-Holstein. In the 1920s, when the Schleswig Plebiscite incorporated Northern Schleswig into Denmark, 76.5% of Tønder's inhabitants voted to remain part of Germany and 23.5% voted to join Denmark.
After the First World War, Tønder was detached from Germany in spite of the majority of its population casting a pro-German vote in the Schleswig Plebiscites - as Tønder was included in Zone I, which as a whole had a strong pro-Danish majority. In the years that followed, German political parties enjoyed a majority in the city council.
[1]

Archives, Societies, and Libraries

(enter archive, society, library contact information)

Census Records

Districts

  • Hviding Herred
  • Slogs Herred
  • Tønder, Højer, og Lø Herred

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

Parishes

HvidingRoagerSpandetHøjrupRejsbyBrønsVodderSkærbækArrildRømøBallumMjoldenDøstrupNørre LøgumRanderupBredeLøgumklosterSønder SkastHjerpstedEmmerlevHøjerVisbyAbildDalerMøgeltønderTønder landsognUbjergHøjstHostrupRavstedBylderupBurkalTinglevTonder Map.jpg

Map of parishes

Church Records

Military

Probate Records

Estates

  • Frederikskog gods
  • Gammel Frederikskog gods
  • Gråsten gods
  • Rudbølkog gods
  • Schackenborg gods
  • Trøbjorg gods
  • Trøjborg gods

Sources in Print