Syria Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Syria ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Syria Wiki Topics
Flag of Syria.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Syria Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Syria is a country in the Middle East bordered by Lebanon, Turkey, Iraq, Jordan, and Israel. It was formerly known as the Levant and under Ottoman rule. The official language is Arabic.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Syria Research

Links to articles on getting started with Syria research.

Syria Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Syria research.

Ask the
Community

Syria Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Syria. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
Syria governorates and districts.png

Map Color Governorate Name Districts
Aleppo حلب Mount Simeon, Afrin, Atarib, Ein Al Arab, Azaz, Al Bab, Deir Hafir, Jarablus, Manbij, Al Safirah
Damascus دمشق -
Daraa درعا Daraa, Izraa, Al Sanamayn
Deir El-Zur دير الزور Deir El-Zur, Abu Kamal, Mayadin
Hama حماة Hama, Masyaf, Muhardeh, Salamiyah, Al Suqaylebiah
Al-Hasakah الحسكة Al Hasakeh, Al Malikiyah, Qamishli, Ras Al Ein
Homs حمص Homs, Al Mukharram, Al Rastan, Al Qusayr, Tadmur (Palmyra), Taldu, Talkalakh
Idlib إدلب Idlib, Ariha (Jericho), Harem, Jisr El Shughur, Maarat El Numan
Latakia اللاذقية Latakia, Al Haffa, Jableh, Qardaha
Quneitra القنيطرة Quneitra, Fiq
Raqqa الرقة Al Raqqa, Tal Abyad, Al Thawra
Rif Dimashq ريف دمشق Rural Damascus, Daraya, Duma, Al Nabaq, Qatana, Qudsiya, Al Qutayfah, Al Tal, Yabrud, Al Zabadani
Al-Suwayda السويداء Al Suwayda, Salkhad, Shahba
Tartus طرطوس Tartus, Banias, Dreikish, Safita, Al Sheikh Badr

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Syria," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Syria, accessed 21 April 2016.