Swyre, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Swyre

Guide to Swyre, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Swyre, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Uggscombe
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Bridport
Registration District Bridport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

SWYRE (Holy Trinity), a parish in Bridport district, Dorset; on the coast, 5 miles ESE of Bridport railway station.  Pop., 277.[1]


SWYRE (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Bridport, hundred of Uggscombe, Dorchester division of Dorset, 5½ miles (S. E.) from Bridport; [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Swyre, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1570
1570
1570
Images
1570-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1813-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-2009 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1731-1880 Ancestry[7] 1588-1836 Joiner[8]
1588-1836 findmypast[9]
1658-1749 findmypast[10]
1790-1837 Ancestry[11]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 10 July 2103.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 10 July 2103.
  3. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  8. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  9. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  10. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm