Zürich Canton, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Switzerland - Zürich)
Jump to: navigation, search
Switzerland Wiki Topics
Switzerlandflag.gif
Beginning Research
Record Types
Switzerland Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Switzerland is Sonja Nishimoto.
Switzerland
Zürich Canton
SW Locator Map Switzerland Zürich Canton.png

Guide to Zürich canton ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Zürich is a German speaking canton.  It joined the Swiss Confederation in 1351 and has 171 communities.

Getting started with Switzerland - Zürich research

Featured Content

  • The Zürich State Archive has a canton-wide marriage index, for every parish, through 1800, and are in the process of putting these indexes online.  The index is currently available online for every parish through 1700.  Click here to access the search feature. You can also access PDFs of the marriage index by clicking here

To learn how to use the Zürich Marriage Index, check out the "How to" Guide. First, read through the Instruction; Then test your knowledge with the short Assignment - the Answer Key is provided to check your answers.

Swiss Genealogy on the Internet - Zürich

Zürich Government Archive

Inhabitants of the Wil Parish, Zürich, Switzerland 1640 - 1900

Parishes in Zürich

The following is a list of the church parishes of Canton Zürich as they existed by 1875.

Zürich Marriage Records

Zürich marriage records have been indexed by groom or bride, then by surname. This index can be accessed at the following links:
Organized by Groom:

Organized by Bride:

Research Tools