Swinderby, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Swinderby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Swinderby All Saints Lincolnshire.jpg
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
SWINDERBY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Newark, Lower division of the wapentake of BoothbyGraffo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (N. E.) from Newark. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Swinderby All Saints is an Ancient Parish; the Norman church was restored in 1854, 1879 and 1910.
A Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built in the village and civil parish, which was also home to RAF Swinderby. The chapel dates from 1869
This parish was in the north Collingham sub-district of Newark registration district.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
PO Box 760
Phone: 01522 782244
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Swinderby Par 1 will identify available images.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Swinderby
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.