Sweetwater County, Wyoming Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sweetwater County, Wyoming)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wyoming
Sweetwater County
Guide to Sweetwater County, Wyoming ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Green River
Organized: December 27, 1867
Parent County(s): the western half of Laramie [1]
Neighboring Counties
Carbon  • Daggett (UT)  • Fremont  • Lincoln  • Moffat (CO)  • Sublette  • Summit (UT)  • Uinta
See County Maps
Courthouse
Sweetwater County Courthouse, Green River, Wyoming.jpg
Location Map
Wy-sweetwater.png
Adoption



County Information

Description

Sweetwater County was organized in 1867. It is located in the most southwestern area of the state. Its county seat is Green River.[2] It was named for Sweetwater River. [3]

County Courthouse

Sweetwater County Courthouse
80 W Flaming Gorge Way
PO Box 730
Green River, WY 82935
Phone: 307.872.6400
Sweetwater County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1864 and land records from 1876. Clerk of the District Court has divorce, probate and court records.[4]

Sweetwater County, Wyoming Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1909 1864 1909 1867 1879 1868 1850
*State birth and death records began in 1909. Limited compliance until 1922.[6]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: Formed from the western half of Laramie county 27 Dec 1867 (Laramie county originally encompassed the entire state). Originally named Carter county and original county seat South Pass City. The county was renamed Sweetwater by the first Wyoming Legislative Assembly. The county seat was moved to Green River in 1873.
  • County Seat: Green River

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
  • Burntfork
  • Creston
Towns
Villages
  • Monell (Hist)
  • Quealy
  • Salt Wells
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sweetwater County, Wyoming online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in
Print
(Often
more complete
)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wyoming Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Sweetwater county cemeteries.

Census Records

Before Wyoming was a state in 1890, Wyoming was included in the 1850 Utah Territory. In the 1860 Census, it was enumerated as Nebraska Territory. The first Wyoming Territorial Census was taken in 1869, right after Wyoming Territory was created, and is available on microfilm at the Wyoming State Archives[8] and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (FHL film 2261365). The 1870 and 1880 Federal Censuses included Wyoming Territory.[9] See links listed below. State censuses were taken for Wyoming but they were mostly statistical censuses with very little individual information. See Wyoming Census for more information.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 1,916
1880 2,561 33.7%
1890 4,941 92.9%
1900 8,455 71.1%
1910 11,575 36.9%
1920 13,640 17.8%
1930 18,165 33.2%
1940 19,407 6.8%
1950 22,017 13.4%
1960 17,920 −18.6%
1970 18,391 2.6%
1980 41,723 126.9%
1990 38,823 −7.0%
2000 37,613 −3.1%
2010 43,806 16.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org"

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Wyoming starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Wyoming Census.


Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Green River, McKinnon, Reliance, Rock Springs,Rock Springs 1st, Rock Springs 2nd, Superior, Winton

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed. Online Land Records

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Uinta CountyLincoln CountySublette CountyFremont CountyCarbon CountyMoffat County, ColoradoDaggett County, UtahSummit County, UtahWY SWEETWATER.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Early migration routes to and from Sweetwater County, Wyoming Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Wyoming. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Wyoming Military Records.

Civil War
No known military units were raised specifically from Wyoming as it did not become a state until 1890. However men from the territories that became Wyoming fought in other units during the Civil War.

World War I

World War II

For further information see Wyoming Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Wyoming Newspapers.

Wyoming Newspapers Online

Wyoming Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

Other Records

Public Records

1882 Poll Book for Green River, Sweetwater County, Wyoming.

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Sweetwater - Probate records.

The bulk of the probate case files from the 1870's to the 1940's have been transferred to the Wyoming State Archives in Cheyenne. Check their website for additional details.

School Records

Tax Records

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online $ or download an application for Wyoming Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail. For records more than 50 years old visit Wyoming State Archives

Birth

Marriage

Death

  • Wyoming Death Index at Wyoming State Archives — index (currently contains only A-E, it is a work in progress)

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Sweetwater County Library
300 N 1st E St
Green River, WY 82935, USA
Phone: 307-875-3615
Director: Jason Grubb
Email: jgrubb@sweetwaterlibraries.com
Website

White Mountain Library
2935 Sweetwater Dr
Rock Springs, WY 82901, USA
Phone: 307-362-2665
Michelle Maser, Manager: 307-362-2665 x3120
Email: mmaser@sweetwaterlibraries.com
Website

Rock Springs Library
400 C St
Rock Springs, WY 82901, USA
Phone: 307-352-6667
Lindsey Travis, Manager: 307-352-6669
Email: ltravis@sweetwaterlibraries.com
Website

Museums

Rock Springs Historical Museum
Various holdings including sporadic Polk city directories and high school yearbooks.
Website

Sweetwater County Historical Museum
3 E. Flaming Gorge Way
Green River 82935
Website

Societies

County, Township and City Societies

Sweetwater County Historical Society
P. O. Box 25
Green River, WY 82935
Email: ghsc@sweet.w.us
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/wyo/sweetwater/ accessed 11/15/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sweetwater_County,_Wyoming accessed 11/15/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 767. Sweetwater County, Wyoming
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sweetwater County, Wyoming. Page 767. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 768; Wyoming Department of Health, “Vital Statistics Services,” https://health.wyo.gov/admin/vitalstatistics/ accessed 28 June 2017.
  6. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 837; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Sweetwater County, Wyoming," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sweetwater_County,_Wyoming#Communities accessed 29 November 2016.
  8. On microfilm number: 2261365.
  9. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 761. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 761. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  10. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map IV" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap4.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  11. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  12. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  13. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_Trail (accessed 19 July 2011).