Swarby, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Swarby St Mary and All Saints is an Ancient parish which combined with Aswarby with Swarby, Lincolnshire in 1850. It is in the civil parish of Aswarby with Swarby.
The mediaeval church was restored in 1886-1887.
The modern parish is in the South Lafford Benefice of the diocese of Lincoln.
This parish should not be confused with Swaby, Lincolnshire (near Louth)
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
This parish was part of the Sleaford sub-district in the Sleaford registration District.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Swarby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Swarby Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Parish registers date from 1813.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]