Swaffham Prior, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Swaffham Prior, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Swaffham Prior, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Newmarket|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
- St Cyriac & Julitta
- St Mary
SWAFFHAM-PRIOR (St. Cyriac), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staine, county of Cambridge, 5½ miles (W. by N.) from Newmarket. The living consists of the consolidated vicarages of St. Cyriac and St. Mary. There were formerly two churches in the same cemetery: that of St. Mary has fallen to ruin, except the tower, which, from the peculiarity of its situation, forms an interesting object; that of St. Cyriac has been lately rebuilt.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Swaffham Prior parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Swaffham Prior Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Particular Baptist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Swaffham Prior on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 280-283. Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.