Svinninge Parish, Holbæk, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Holbæk County
Svinninge

Guide to Svinninge, Holbæk, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

Until January 1, 2007 Svinninge municipality was a municipality in the former West Zealand County on the island of Zealand in eastern Denmark and the site of the municipal council was the town of Svinninge.
The municipality was formed in 1966, combining the parishes of Gislinge, Hjembæk, Svinninge, and Kundby. The first record of Svinninge and Gislinge dates from the 14th century, but some hold the opinion that the area has been settled since the Viking Age.
Svinninge municipality was, as the result of The Municipality Reform of 2007, merged with existing Holbæk, Jernløse, Tornved, and Tølløse municipalities to form a new Holbæk municipality. The new municipality belongs to Region Zealand.
[1]

Svinninge Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Hjembæk-Svinninge Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Holbæk
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Holbæk
Herred (district) Tuse
Kommune (municipality) Hjembækj-Svinninge
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 22
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 22
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/36
Gods (estate) Frydendal gods; Vognserup gods; Agersvold gods; Tuse herreds provsti; Baroniet Løvenborg; Benzonslund gods; Svinninge kirkes gods; Bjergbygård gods; Adelersborg gods; Merløse Herredsret; Tuse Herredsret


Place Names

Arnakkegaard,

Gudmandstrup,

Maglebjerg,

Nordgaarde,

Skelbæk, Svinninge, Svinninge Kro, Svinninge, Lb., Svinningegaard, Svinningegaarden,

Æblemade,

Ørbekshus


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

Surrounding Parishes



Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Holbæk Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Holbæk" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.2, Holbæk Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920