Svendborg County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Denmark
Svendborg County

Guide to Svendborg ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

History

Svendborg County (Danish: Svendborg Amt) is a former province in Denmark, located on the southern half of the island of Funen in central Denmark. Svendborg County was established in 1793 and abolished in 1970 when it merged with Odense County forming the new Funen County.

The south Funen area was organized as Nyborg County in 1662, a province also including the Hindsholm peninsula. Hindsholm was incorporated into the new Odense County while the bulk of the former province was merged with Tranekær County and renamed to Svendborg County. This situation lasted until 1970 when Odense and Svendborg merged to form Funen County.

Svendborg County featured the market towns (købstæder) of Faaborg, Nyborg, Rudkøbing, Svendborg, and Ærøskøbing. The latter town became part of the province in 1864. In spiritual matters, the county belonged to the Diocese of Funen.

Archives, Societies, and Libraries

(enter archive, society, library contact information)

Census Records

Districts

  • Gudme Herred
  • Langelands Nørre Herred
  • Langelands Sønder Herred
  • Sallinge Herred
  • Sunds Herred
  • Vindinge Herred
  • Ærø Herred
FlødstrupBovenseUllerslevAvnslevNyborg CitySkellerupKullerupEllingeVindingeRefs VindingeFrørupØrbækEllestedHerrestedHellerupSøllingeSønder HøjrupÅrslevNørre BrobyVejleAllestedHedenVantingeGestelevSønder BrobySandholts LyndelseVester HæsingeHillerslevHåstrupEspeHerringeØster HæsingeSvanningeHorneFåborg CityLyøDiernæsBrahetrolleborgKrarupHundstrupVester ÅbyVester SkerningeTullebølleÅstrupRingeRyslingeGislevSvindingeØksendrupHesselagerLangåGudbjergGudmeBrudagerOureVejstrupKværndrupLundeKirkebyStenstrupOllerupØster SkerningeEgenseSvendborg Vor FrueTvedTvedSkårupThurøAvernakøBregninge (Sunds herred)LandetBjerrebyDrejøStrynøHovStoenseSnødeBøstrupTranekærTullebølleSimmerbølleRudkøbing CitySkrøbelevLongelseFuglsbølleLindelseHumbleFodsletteTryggelevMaglebySøbyBregninge (Ærø herred)TranderupRiseÆrøskøbing CityMarstal CitySvendborg Map.jpg

Parishes

Map of parishes

Church Records

Probate Records

Estates

  • Ahlefeldt
  • Arreskov
  • Arreskov og Gelskov
  • Biskopstorp
  • Bispestols
  • Bjørnemose
  • Boltinggård
  • Brahesminde
  • Brahetrolleborg
  • Brobygård
  • Broholm
  • Broløkke
  • Damsbo
  • Egeløkke
  • Egeskov
  • Fårevejle gods
  • Fjellebro
  • Flintholm
  • Glorup
  • Grevskabet Langelands gods
  • Hellerup
  • Hesselagergård
  • Hindemae
  • Hjortholm
  • Holckenhavn
  • Holstenshus
  • Hvedholm
  • Hvidkilde
  • Juelsberg
  • Juulskov
  • Klingstrup
  • Krumstrup
  • Lammehave
  • Langeland Grevskabs godser
  • Langelands gods
  • Lundegård
  • Lundsgård
  • Lykkesholm
  • Løjtved
  • Moltkenborg
  • Muckadell
  • Mullerup
  • Mægård
  • Møllegård
  • Nakkebølle
  • Nedergård
  • Nielstrup
  • Nordskov
  • Nyborg Amtstues gods
  • Nyborg Kirkeinspektions gods
  • Nybøllegård
  • Rantzausholm
  • Ravnholt
  • Ryegård
  • Rygård
  • Rynkebygård
  • Rødkilde
  • Rørbæk
  • Sandholt
  • Skjoldemose
  • Skovsbo
  • Skovsgård
  • Stensgård
  • Stensgård gods på Langeland
  • Søbo
  • Søbysøgård
  • Søvertorp
  • Tåsinge
  • Thorseng
  • Tiselholt
  • Tøjstrup
  • Vejstrupgård
  • Ørbæklunde
  • Østrupgård
  • Ålykkegård
  • Åstrupgård