To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sveio Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Sveio, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Sveio Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Sveio
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Sveio
Fogderi Søndhordland
Sorenskriveri Søndhordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers are available at the Family History Library for Sveio clerical district). Contains parish registers for the parishes Sveio (Sveen), Vikebygd and Valestrand in Sveio clerical district. Sveio (Sveen) was separated from Finnås clerical district and Vikebygd from Fjelberg clerical district in 1861. Valestrand was separated from Stord clerical district and Øklandsgrenden from Moster parish of Finnås clerical district in 1870. See these clerical districts for earlier years. Records available from 1851-1926.

Images of digitized parish registers avaliable online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Sveio: 1718-1945


Census Records[edit | edit source]

For 1865 census and earlier see Finnås.

1865 Census for Sveio is online as a database at Digitalarkivet 1865-telling for 1216 Sveen.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Steinsbø, Simon, Gards- og ættesoge for Sveio, Sveio: Sveio Kommune, c1986 - c1987. A genealogy of the people and their farms in Sveio and Valestrand in Hordaland county, Norway. FHL 948.32/S7 D2s Contents: b. 1. Gamle Valestrand kommune -- b. 2. Skulekrinsane Bua, Vikse, Vandaskog og Sveio -- b. 3. Lid skulekrins og gamle Vestre Vikebygd. Farm name indexes to volumes 2 and 3 are found in the following links. File:948.32-S7 D2s v2 - Sveio 2.pdf, File:948.32-S7 D2s v3 - Sevio 3.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

47 Aasbu 41 Aase 56 Aastø 56 Aastøleitet 63 Afløipet 89 Apeland nordre

72 Bakkene 74 Birkeland 92 Bjelland 79 Botsviken 87 Braatveit vestre 87 Bruervold 52 Bue

70 Dalen 101 Drange 81 Dynje

73 Ekrene 79 Eljeraas 56 Eltrevaag 46 Emberland

80 Fjon 43 Færaas

54 Grimstveit

96 Haukaas 93 Hinderli 55 Hovde

45 Kinn 86 Krossgot 82 Kvalvaag 88 Kvernedalen 56 Kverneneset

44 Lauvaas 91 Li 99 Lier nedre 53 Lier vestre 77 Lindøen 50 Lodseneset 51 Lokne 57 Lyngholmen

97 Moldbrekken 85 Mækjeland 60 Mølstre nordre 61 Mølstrevaagnes

84 Nese 48 Neset 64 Neset 98 Nonsli 56 Nordbø 42 Nordskog 80 Notebakken

102 Rød 58 Rødmyr

56 Sandviken 65 Skaaleskog 56 Skiftestad 66 Strømmen 67 Strømsvold 40 Sveen 58 Søllesviken

48 Tjernagel nordre 49 Tjernagelsholmen 75 Tveit ytre 95 Tveite 94 Tveiteli 78 Tveiteskog 68 Tveitestøl

76 Uren

71 Vaage nordre 72 Vaage søndre 83 Vaage østre 59 Vandeskog 69 Vikse vestre

For two larger lists of farm names, click below, then click again on the next link.

https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:948.32-S7_D2s_v2_-_Sveio_2.pdf

https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:948.32-S7_D2s_v3_-_Sevio_3.pdf

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1887: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.

1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names