Svedala Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Svedala Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
History[edit | edit source]
Svedala Municipality is a municipality in Skåne County in southern Sweden, just southeast of Malmö. Its seat is located in the town of Svedala.
The present municipality is the result of a series of mergings, carried out in 1952, 1967, 1974 and 1977. Svedala was the last municipality to be completed during the local government reform of the 1970s. There had been considerations of adding the whole or parts of the territory to Malmö Municipality.
|Svedala Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy|
|Pastorat||up to 30 April 1924, part of its own pastorat; 1 May 1924-1979 Svedala and Västra Kärrstorp; 1980-1997 Svedala, Västra Kärrstorp, Törringe and Börringe.|
|Län||Before 1658 belonged to Denmark, 1669 - 1996 Malmöhus, 1997 - the modern county of Skåne.|
|Härad||up to 1864, Vemmenhög; after 1865 Oxie.|
|Tingslag||1865-1872 Oxie härad; 1873- Oxie och Skytts härader|
|Domsaga||1682-1690 Oxie, Torna och Bara districts;1691-1864 Oxie, Skytt och Vemmenhögs districts; 1865-1970 Oxie och Skytts districts; 1971- Trelleborg|
|Fögderi||1720-1873, Oxie, Skytt, and Vemmenhög; 1874-1917, Oxie and Skytt; 1918-1991 Malmö; 1992- Trelleborg|
|Kommun||1919-1949 Svedala köping (part of the parish); 1950-1970 Svedala köping; 1971- forward, Svedala|
|Militär indelning||Skånska dragonregementet 12 and Södra Skånska regementet 12|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/LLA/13383|
|National Archive SVAR||link|
|SCB Congregation map||link|
|Open Street map||link|
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Aggarp, Aggarps mölla, Aggarps skolhus
Bosarp, Brännemölla, Bödkarehus, Böket
Fattighus, Fiskarehus, Förbättringen (Lilla)
Gamle dam, Gagnstorp
Hyltarp, Hönsinge, Kalvhagen, Knutstorp
Lillebal, Lindholm, Lindved (Norra), Lindved (Södra), Långskogshuset
Norrskog, Nybygget, Nygård, Näbbarp
Sjölund, Skogen, Skogshus, Svedala (Lilla), Svedala (Stora), Svedala skolhus, Svenstorp Östra
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
Collections[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Malmöhus Church Records, 1541-1918; index 1646-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]
Click Sweden, Malmöhus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Malmöhus and then select your parish.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
Svedala församling Husförhörslängd 1838 - 1844 Ortregister
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.