Sutton under Brailes, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Sutton under Brailes, Warwickshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton under Brailes, Warwickshire
Sutton under Brailes Warwoickshire contributor Michael Dibb.jpg

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SUTTON-UNDER-BRAILES (St Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of Shipston, hundred of Kington, S. division of the county of Warwick, 5 miles (S. E.) from Shipston; containing 232 inhabitants.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Sutton under Brailes, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC(1) = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
AC(2) = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
SUTTON UNDER BRAILES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC(1) 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
AC(1) 1850-1874 1850-1874
AC(2) 1813-1871 1813-1871 1814-1859 1814-1859 1813-1871 1813-1871
BOYD
1578-1812

FREG 1578-1812
JOIN

1578-1811


PALL
1790-1812


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Information about the parish may be found on Warwickshire Online Parish Clerks. Records are also available at the Warwickshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  7. Gloucestershire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.