Sutton le Marsh, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Sutton le Marsh, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sutton le Marsh, Lincolnshire|
Sutton-on-Sea St Clement Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Spilsby|
|Parish registers: 1813|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
SUTTON-IN-THE-MARSH (St. Clement), a parish, in the union of Spilsby, Marsh division of the hundred of Calceworth, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 6½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Alford. 
Sutton on Sea (sometimes called Sutton le Marsh or Sutton in the Marsh) is an Ancient Parish and small seaside village.
The church of St Clement is a grade II listed building designated by English Heritage which was built in 1818-1819 after the sea had inundated swept away part of the village and the church. The church was further rebuilt in 1860.
Two Methodist chapels were built here:The Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in 1834, the Primitive Methodist chapel dated from 1876.
This parish was in the Alford sub-district of Spilsby registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Sutton on Sea Par 1 will identify available images.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton le Marsh
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.