Sutton by Dover, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Kent
Kent Parishes
Sutton by Dover

Guide to Sutton by Dover, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sutton by Dover, Kent
Sutton St Peter and St Paul Kent.jpg
Sutton St Peter and St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cornilo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1558
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History

Sutton near Dover Kent is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent.

Sutton near Dover St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient parish. Little Mongeham, Kent was absorbed into this parish. A map of the parish boundary of the modern parish is available at A church near you

The church is 12th century and was restored in 1857 and 1861. The bell is now hung on the wall of the church rather than in the bellcote.

The church of St Peter and St Paul, Church Hill, Sutton, Kent British listed building has been designated grade II* by English Heritage.

See also Edward Hasted's entry Sutton, near Dover', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 558-564. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Sutton by Dover, Kent Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Sutton by Dover, Kent Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1890 1890 1824-1914 (Banns) 1824-1914 (Banns) 1813-1941 1813-1941

Land Tax

Images for Sutton by Dover are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Sutton near Dover 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

SUTTON-BY-DOVOR (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 4 miles (S. W. by W.) from Deal. [4]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. ↑ 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. ↑ 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013. Includes Little Mongeham
  3. ↑ 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 274-280. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.
v • d • e
Links to Kent-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Acrise  • Addington  • Adisham  • Aldington  • Alkham  • Allhallows  • Allington  • Appledore  • Ash (near Ridley)  • Ash (near Sandwich)  • Ashford  • Ashurst  • Aylesford  • Badlesmere  • Bapchild  • Barfrestone  • Barham  • Barming, East  • Bearstead  • Beckenham St George  • Bekesbourne  • Benenden  • Bethersden  • Betteshanger  • Bexley  • Bicknor  • Bidborough  • Biddenden  • Bilsington  • Birchington  • Bircholt  • Birling  • Bishopsbourne  • Blackmanstone  • Blean  • Bobbing  • Bonnington  • Borden  • Boughton Aluph  • Boughton Malherbe  • Boughton Monchelsea  • Boughton under Blean  • Boxley  • Brabourne  • Brasted  • Bredgar  • Bredhurst  • Brenchley  • Brenzett  • Bridge  • Broadstairs  • Bromley St Peter and St Paul  • Bromley Holy Trinity  • Brompton  • Brook  • Brookland  • Broomfield  • Buckland  • Buckland near Dover  • Burham  • Burmarsh  • Canterbury Christchurch Cathedral  • Canterbury All Saints  • Canterbury Black Prince’s Chantry  • Canterbury East Bridge Hospital  • Canterbury Holy Cross Westgate  • Canterbury Old Castle  • Canterbury St Alphege  • Canterbury St Andrew  • Canterbury St Augustine  • Canterbury St Dunstan  • Canterbury St George the Martyr  • Canterbury St Gregory the Great  • Canterbury St John’s Hospital  • Canterbury St Margaret  • Canterbury St Martin  • Canterbury St Mary Bredin  • Canterbury St Mary Bredman  • Canterbury St Mary Magdalen  • Canterbury St Mary North Gate  • Canterbury St Mildred with St Mary de Castro  • Canterbury St Paul  • Canterbury St Peter  • Canterbury the Archbishop’s Palace Precincts  • Canterbury White Friars  • Capel  • Capel-le-Ferne  • Chalk  • Challock  • Charing  • Charlton by Dover  • Charlton next Woolwich  • Chart, Great  • Chart, Little  • Chartham  • Chart Sutton  • Chatham  • Chelsfield  • Cheriton  • Chevening  • Chiddingstone  • Chilham  • Chillenden  • Chislehurst  • Chislet  • Cliffe at Hoo  • Cliffe, East  • Cliffe, West  • Cobham  • Coldred  • Cooling  • Cowden  • Cranbrook  • Cray, Foots  • Cray, North  • Cray, St Mary  • Cray, St Paul’s  • Crayford  • Crundale  • Cudham  • Cuxton  • Darenth  • Dartford  • Davington  • Deal St Leonard  • Deal St Andrew  • Deal St George  • Denton (near Dover)  • Denton (near Gravesend)  • Deptford St Nicholas  • Deptford St Paul  • Detling  • Ditton  • Doddington  • Dover Castle  • Dover St James the Apostle  • Dover St Mary the Virgin  • Dover Trinity  • Downe  • Dunkirk  • Dymchurch  • Eastbridge  • Eastchurch  • Eastcliffe  • East Farleigh  • East Langdon  • Eastling  • East Malling  • East Peckham  • East Peckham Holy Trinity  • Eastry  • East Sutton  • Eastwell  • East Wickham  • Ebony  • Edenbridge  • Egerton  • Elham  • Elmley  • Elmsted  • Elmstone  • Eltham St John the Baptist  • Erith  • Ewell, Temple  • Eynsford  • Eythorne  • Fairfield  • Farleigh, East  • Farleigh, West  • Farnborough  • Farningham  • Faversham  • Fawkham  • Folkestone St Mary and St Eanswythe  • Folkestone Christ Church  • Fordwich  • Frant  • Frindsbury  • Frinsted  • Frittenden  • Galley Hill  • Gillingham  • Godmersham  • Goodnestone (near Faversham)  • Goodnestone (near Sandwich)  • Goudhurst  • Grain  • Graveney  • Gravesend St George  • Great Chart  • Greenhithe  • Greenwich St Alfege  • Greenwich, East Christ Church  • Greenwich, West  • Guston  • Hackington  • Hadlow  • Halden, High  • Halling  • Halstead  • Halstow, High  • Halstow, Lower  • Ham  • Harbledown  • Hardres, Lower  • Hardres, Upper  • Harrietsham  • Hartley  • Hartlip  • Harty  • Hastingleigh  • Hawkhurst  • Hawkinge  • Hayes  • Headcorn  • Hempstead  • Herne  • Herne Bay Christ Church  • Hernhill  • Hever  • Higham  • Hildenborough  • Hinxhill  • Hoath  • Hollingbourne  • Hoo Allhallows  • Hoo St Werburgh  • Hoo St Mary  • Horsmonden  • Horton Kirby  • Hothfield  • Hougham  • Hougham-in-Dover  • Hucking  • Hunton  • Hurst  • Hythe  • Hythe, West  • Ickham  • Ide Hill  • Ifield  • Ightham  • Ivychurch  • Iwade  • Kemsing  • Kenardington  • Kennington  • Keston  • Kidbrooke  • Kilndown  • Kingsdown  • Kingsdown St John  • Kingsdown with Mappiscombe  • Kingsnorth  • Kingston  • Knockholt  • Knowlton  • Lamberhurst  • Langdon, East  • Langdon, West  • Langley  • Leaveland  • Lee St Margaret  • Leeds  • Leigh  • Lenham  • Lewisham St Mary  • Leybourne  • Leysdown  • Lidsing  • Linton  • Littlebourne  • Little Chart  • Longfield  • Loose  • Luddenham  • Luddesdown  • Lullingstone  • Luton  • Lydd  • Lydden  • Lyminge  • Lympne  • Lynsted  • Maidstone All Saints  • Maidstone Holy Trinity  • Maidstone St Peter  • Malling, East  • Malling, West  • Marden  • Mareston  • Margate St John the Baptist  • Margate Holy Trinity  • Mark Beech  • Marsh, West  • Meopham  • Mereworth  • Mersham  • Midley  • Milstead  • Milton  • Milton Holy Trinity  • Milton Regis  • Milton next Canterbury  • Milton-next-Gravesend  • Minster in Sheppey  • Minster in Thanet  • Mint  • Molash  • Mongeham, Great  • Mongeham, Little  • Monks Horton  • Monkton  • Murston  • Nackington  • Nettlestead  • Newchurch  • Newenden  • Newington next Hythe  • Newington next Sittingbourne  • Newnham  • Nonington  • Northbourne  • Northfleet  • Norton  • Nursted  • Oare  • Offham  • Orgarswick  • Orlestone  • Orpington  • Ospringe  • Otford  • Otham  • Otterden  • Oxney  • Paddlesworth (near Folkstone)  • Paddlesworth (near Snodland)  • Patrixbourne  • Peckham, East  • Peckham, East Holy Trinity  • Peckham, West  • Pembury  • Penshurst  • Petham with Waltham  • Platt  • Plaxtol  • Pluckley  • Plumstead St Nicholas  • Postling  • Preston  • Preston next Faversham  • Queenborough  • Rainham  • Ramsgate St George  • Ramsgate Christ Church  • Ramsgate Holy Trinity  • Reculver  • Ridley  • Ringwould  • Ripple  • River  • Riverhead  • Rochester Cathedral  • Rochester Castle Precincts  • Rochester Precincts of the Cathedral Church of Christ and the Blessed Virgin Mary  • Rochester St Margaret  • Rochester St Nicholas with St Clement  • Rodmersham  • Rolvenden  • Romney, New with Hope  • Romney, Old  • Rosherville  • Ruckinge  • Ryarsh  • Saltwood  • Sandgate  • Sandhurst  • Sandwich St Bartholomew’s Hospital  • Sandwich St Clement  • Sandwich St Mary  • Sandwich St Peter  • Seal  • Seasalter  • Sellindge  • Selling  • Sevenoaks  • Sevenoaks Weald  • Sevington  • Shadoxhurst  • Sheerness  • Sheldwich  • Shipbourne  • Sholden  • Shoreham  • Shorne  • Sibertswold  • Sidcup St John  • Sissinghurst  • Sittingbourne  • Smarden  • Smeeth  • Snargate  • Snave  • Snodland  • Southborough St Peter  • Southfleet  • South Willesborough  • Speldhurst  • St Laurence in Thanet  • St Margaret at Cliffe  • St Mary in the Marsh  • St Nicholas at Wade  • St Nicholas Hospital  • St Peter in Thanet  • Stalisfield  • Stanford  • Stansted  • Staple  • Staplegate  • Staplehurst  • Stelling  • Stelling Minnis  • Stockbury  • Stodmarsh  • Stoke  • Stonar  • Stone (near Dartford)  • Stone (next Faversham)  • Stone-in-Oxney  • Stourmouth  • Stowting  • Strood St Nicholas  • Sturry  • Sundridge  • Sutton at Hone  • Sutton by Dover  • Sutton Valence  • Sutton, Chart  • Sutton, East  • Swalecliffe  • Swanley  • Swanscombe  • Swingfield  • Temple Ewell  • Tenterden  • Teston  • Teynham  • Thanington  • Throwley  • Thurnham  • Tilmanstone  • Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul  • Tonge  • Tovil  • Trottiscliffe  • Tudeley  • Tunbridge Wells Holy Trinity  • Tunstall  • Twydall  • Ulcombe  • Upchurch  • Upnor  • Waldershare  • Walmer  • Warden  • Warehorne  • Wateringbury  • Westbere  • Westcliffe  • Westerham  • West Farleigh  • West Langdon  • West Malling  • Westmarsh  • West Peckham  • Westwell  • West Wickham  • Whitfield  • Whitstable  • Wickham, East  • Wickham, West  • Wichling  • Wickhambreaux  • Wigmore  • Willesborough, South  • Wilmington  • Wingham  • Wittersham  • Womenswold  • Woodchurch  • Woodlands  • Woodnesborough  • Woolwich St Mary  • Woolwich St Thomas  • Wootton  • Wormshill  • Worth  • Wouldham  • Wrotham  • Wye  • Yalding

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories
Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Sutton_by_Dover,_Kent_Genealogy&oldid=3437188"