Sutton St George, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Sutton St George, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sutton St George, Cheshire|
|Poor Law Union||Macclesfield|
|Parish registers: 1823|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MACCLESFIELD, is a market-town, parochial chapelry, and newly-enfranchised borough, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the parish of Prestbury, and hundred of Macclesfield, and the head of a union, in the North division of the county of Chester. The town is pleasantly situated near the southern extremity of the forest.
The parochial chapelry consists of the nine townships of Hurdsfield,Kettleshulme, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Pott-Shrigley, Rainow, Sutton, Wildboar-Clough, and Wincle. St. George's church, in Sutton, was erected as a dissenters' place of worship, the same township contains a church dedicated to St. James.
John Marius Wilson discribed it in this way:
SUTTON, a township, two chapelries, and a sub-district, in Prestbury parish, Macclesfield district, Cheshire. The township is partly in Macclesfield borough; extends 4 miles SSE of M. town; and contains a suburb of that town, and the village of Langley. The chapelries are St. George and St. James; and were constituted, the former in 1835, the latter in 1860. St. George's church is in Macclesfield, and was originally a dissenting chapel.
The Brunswick Wesleyan Methodist Church was in an area of Macclesfield which was formerly part of Sutton--not to be confused with the village of Sutton, four miles south of Macclesfield. The church closed in 1986 and has been converted into apartments and the burial was converted into a parking lot. The graves were relocated, but no one seems to know where.
The street where the church/apartments is located was once known as Bridge Street, off Mill Lane. The street was renamed to Chapel Street to avoid confusion with the Bridge Street in Macclesfield.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Sutton St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Sutton St George Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
Church records for the Brunswick Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bridge Street, Sutton, 1824-1966
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registersCheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 9/1, EMS 9/2/1-8, EMS 9/3.
|Church records for the Brunswick Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bridge Street, Sutton, 1824-1966||Film|
|Births, baptisms and burials, 1824-1837.
||20053 Items 2 - 3|
|Baptisms, 1837-1966. Marriages, 1861-1954. Burials, 1845-1916, 1927-1931, 1943-1947, 1959.
||2299525 Items 10 - 19|
Church records for the Bourne Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sutton (near Macclesfield), 1906-1960: Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 8/1, 5.
|Church records for the Bourne Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sutton (near Macclesfield), 1906-1960
|Baptisms, 1919-1959. Marriages, 1906-1960.
||2299525 Items 8 - 9|
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Poor Law[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Sutton St George on GENUKI
Sutton (near Macclesfield) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.