Sussex Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sussex Wiki Topics
Flag of Sussex.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Sussex Background
Local Research Resources

Parish Registers[edit | edit source]

Many of Sussex county baptism, marriage, and burial records for various parishes in Sussex have been digitized and made searchable via Familysearch.org's Family History Centers. You can access them via the use of the FamilySearch.org's online Catalog.[edit | edit source]
Numerous of these church registers are now indexed and made available online on their website for free searches. (Also see the Sussex Online Parish Clerkswiki page.). See the Church Records Online section for what's available for searches online overall.[edit | edit source]

Church Records Online[edit | edit source]

1) The Genealogist has approximately 4 million searchable christening, marriages and burials entries currently. (13Feb19)

2) FamilySearch.org has 5.7 million searchable entries of christening, marriages and burials for Sussex. (13Feb19)

3) Sussex Online Parish Clerks - has indexed parish registers for a portion of the county.


Baptisms

337,818 Sussex entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1] These entries are now available for searching online at Familysearch.org.

Marriages

71,580 Sussex entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[2]. These entries are now available for searching online at Familysearch.org.

Burials

Burials from 25 Sussex places (56,168 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Findmypast.co.uk has this national index available for searches. Coverage.[3]

Marriage Licences[edit | edit source]

  • 1586-1643 - Calendar of Sussex Marriage Licences, Archdeaconry of Lewes, 1586-1642/3 (1901). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  • 1575-1774 - Boyd's Marriage Index (£) includes Archdeaconry of Chichester marriage licences (1575-1774), Archdeaconry of Lewes marriage licences (1586-1728), and Peculiar Deanery of Chichester marriage licences (1582-1730).[4]
  • 1731-1800 - Calendar of Sussex Marriage Licences, Archdeaconry of Chichester, 1775-1800; Index to 1731-1800 (1929).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. ↑ 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.
  4. ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
v • d • e
Links to Sussex, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Albourne  • Alciston  • Aldingbourne  • Aldrington  • Alfold  • Alfriston  • Amberley  • Apuldram  • Ardingly  • Arlington  • Arundel  • Ashburnham  • Ashington with Buncton  • Ashurst  • Balcombe  • Barcombe  • Barlavington  • Barnham  • Battle  • Beckley  • Beddingham  • Bepton  • Berwick  • Bexhill St Peter  • Bignor  • Billingshurst  • Binsted  • Birdham  • Bishopstone  • Bodiam  • Bodle Street  • Bognor  • Bolney  • Bosham  • Boxgrove  • Bramber with Botolphs  • Bramshott  • Brede  • Brightling  • Brighton St Nicholas  • Brighton All Souls  • Brighton St John the Evangelist  • Broadwater  • Burgess Hill  • Burpham  • Burton with Coates  • Burwash  • Bury  • Buxted  • Catsfield  • Chailey  • Chalvington  • Chichester All Saints  • Chichester Cathedral  • Chichester Cathedral Close  • Chichester Newtown  • Chichester St Andrew  • Chichester St Bartholomew  • Chichester St James  • Chichester St Martin  • Chichester St Olave  • Chichester St Pancras  • Chichester St Paul  • Chichester St Peter the Great  • Chichester St Peter the Less  • Chiddingly  • Chidham  • Chithurst  • Clapham  • Clayton with Keymer  • Clymping  • Cocking  • Cold Waltham  • Colgate  • Compton  • Coombes  • Cowfold  • Crawley  • Crowhurst  • Cuckfield  • Dallington  • Danehill  • Denton  • Ditchling  • Donnington  • Duncton  • Earnley and Almodington  • Eartham  • Easebourne  • East Angmering with Angmering  • East Blatchington  • East Chiltington  • East Dean St Simon and St Jude, East Sussex  • East Dean All Saints, West Sussex  • East Grinstead  • East Guldeford  • East Hoathly  • East Lavant  • East Marden  • East Preston  • East Wittering  • Eastbourne [St Mary]  • Eastbourne Holy Trinity  • Eastergate  • Ebernoe  • Edburton  • Egdean  • Elsted with Treyford and Didling  • Eridge Green  • Etchingham  • Ewhurst  • Fairlight  • Falmer  • Felpham  • Fernhurst  • Ferring  • Findon  • Fittleworth  • Fletching  • Folkington  • Ford  • Forest Row  • Framfield  • Friston  • Funtington  • Glynde  • Goring by Sea  • Graffham  • Greatham with Wiggonholt  • Guestling  • Hadlow Down  • Hailsham  • Hamsey  • Hangleton  • Hardham  • Hartfield  • Harting  • Hastings All Saints  • Hastings Holy Trinity  • Hastings St Clement  • Hastings St Clement Halton  • Hastings St Mary Bulverhythe  • Hastings St Mary in the Castle  • Hastings St Mary Magdalen  • Hastings St Michael  • Hawkhurst  • Haywards Heath  • Heathfield  • Heene  • Hellingly  • Henfield  • Herstmonceux  • Heyshott  • Hollington  • Hooe  • Horsham  • Horsmonden  • Horsted Keynes  • Horsted Parva  • Houghton  • Hove  • Hunston  • Hurstpierpoint  • Icklesham  • Iden  • Ifield  • Iford  • Iping  • Isfield  • Itchingfield  • Jevington  • Kemp Town  • Keymer  • Kingston by Ferring  • Kingston by Sea  • Kingston near Lewes  • Kirdford  • Lamberhurst  • Lancing  • Laughton  • Lewes All Saints  • Lewes St Anne  • Lewes St John sub Castro  • Lewes St John the Baptist, Southover  • Lewes St Michael  • Lewes St Thomas at Cliffe  • Lewes the Castle Precincts  • Lindfield  • Litlington  • Littlehampton  • Lodsworth  • Lower Beeding  • Loxwood  • Lullington  • Lurgashall  • Lydd  • Lyminster  • Lynch  • Lynchmere  • Madehurst  • Maresfield  • Mayfield  • Merston  • Mid Lavant  • Middleton  • Midhurst  • Mountfield  • New Fishbourne  • New Shoreham  • Newhaven  • Newick  • Newtimber  • Ninfield  • North Chapel  • North Marden  • North Mundham  • North Stoke  • Northiam  • Nuthurst  • Nutley  • Old Shoreham  • Ore  • Oving  • Ovingdean  • Pagham  • Parham  • Patcham  • Patching  • Peasmarsh  • Penhurst  • Pett  • Petworth  • Pevensey  • Piddinghoe  • Playden  • Plumpton  • Poling  • Portslade  • Poynings  • Preston  • Pulborough  • Pyecombe  • Racton with Lordington  • Ringmer  • Ripe  • Rodmell  • Rogate  • Rotherfield  • Rottingdean  • Rudgwick  • Rumboldswyke  • Rusper  • Rustington  • Rye  • Salehurst  • Seaford  • Sedlescombe  • Selham  • Selmeston  • Selsey  • Sennicotts  • Shermanbury  • Shipley  • Sidlesham  • Singleton  • Slaugham  • Slindon  • Slinfold  • Sompting  • South Bersted  • South Heighton  • South Malling  • South Stoke  • Southbourne  • Southease  • Southwick  • St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea  • Stanmer  • Staplefield Common  • Stedham  • Steep  • Steyning  • Stonegate  • Stopham  • Storrington  • Stoughton  • Streat  • Sullington  • Sutton  • Tangmere  • Tarring Neville  • Telscombe  • Terwick  • Thakeham  • The Gumber  • Ticehurst  • Tillington  • Tortington  • Trotton  • Twineham  • Uckfield  • Udimore  • Up Marden  • Up Waltham  • Upper Beeding  • Upper Dicker Common  • Wadhurst  • Walberton  • Waldron  • Warbleton  • Warminghurst  • Warnham  • Wartling  • Washington  • West Blatchington  • West Chiltington  • West Dean All Saints, East Sussex  • West Dean St Andrew, West Sussex  • West Firle  • West Grinstead  • West Hoathly  • West Itchenor  • West Lavington  • West Stoke  • West Tarring  • West Thorney  • West Wittering  • Westbourne  • Westfield  • Westham  • Westhampnett  • Westmeston  • Whatlington  • Willingdon  • Wilmington  • Winchelsea  • Wisborough Green  • Wiston  • Withyham  • Wivelsfield  • Woodmancote  • Woolavington  • Woolbeding  • Worth  • Worthing  • Yapton

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories
Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Sussex_Church_Records&oldid=4270964"