To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Surry County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Surry County, Virginia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Surry County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Surry County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Surry County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Surry County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1652
County Seat Surry
Courthouse
VirginiaSurryCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Surry County is located across the James River from the historic sites of Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown and is centrally located between the Commonwealth of Virginia's capital of Richmond and the Hampton Roads area of Norfolk and Virginia Beach. Surry was named for the English County of Surrey[1]. [2].

Surry County, Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Indexing icon.png Records from this area are currently being indexed by volunteers. Come join the effort and help us index the US, Virginia, Surrey—County Marriages, 1800–1950 Part A


Surry County Courthouse
P.O. Box 203
28 Colonial Trail East
Routes 10 and 31
Surry, VA 23883-0203
Phone: 804-294-3161

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1896
marriage records from 1768, probate and land records from 1652,
Court records  from 1671 and divorce records[3]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1768 1853 1671 1652 1652 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Surry County, Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Surry County, Virginia takes its name from the English county of Surrey.

The county is named after the English county of Surrey.[5]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1652--Surry County was created in 1652 from James City County.
County seat: Surry [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

The follow Surry County Courthouse records are missing:[6]

  • Deed Book 10 (1835-1838).
  • Order books 1718-1741
  • various other early volumes are fragmentary
  • most loose papers prior to 1806
  • also several federal censuses are lost: 1790, 1800, 1890

Courthouse fires in 1906 and 1922 did not result in record losses.[6]

Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Surry County, Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Surry County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):125-127. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).

African American[edit | edit source]

Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872

  • George, W. Herbert. The History of Negro Churches in Surry County, Virginia. 1965?. FHL Collection 1753002 Item 20
  • Heinegg, Paul. "Surry County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1816," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • Hudgins, Dennis. Surry County, Virginia Register of Free Negroes. Richmond, Va.: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1995. FHL Collection 975.5562 F2h

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Gwaltney, Anne W. et al. Personal History Departments of Surry and Isle of Wight Counties, Virginia from Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia, Special Virginia Edition, c. 1884. 1884; reprint, 1993?. FHL Book 975.55 D3p.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Surry County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 6,227
1800 6,535 4.9%
1810 6,855 4.9%
1820 6,594 −3.8%
1830 7,109 7.8%
1840 6,480 −8.8%
1850 5,679 −12.4%
1860 6,133 8.0%
1870 5,585 −8.9%
1880 7,391 32.3%
1890 8,256 11.7%
1900 8,469 2.6%
1910 9,715 14.7%
1920 9,305 −4.2%
1930 7,096 −23.7%
1940 6,193 −12.7%
1950 6,220 0.4%
1960 6,220 0.0%
1970 5,882 −5.4%
1980 6,046 2.8%
1990 6,145 1.6%
2000 6,829 11.1%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1782 Enumeration

1784 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Otter Dams (1791)[7]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

Surry County fell within the bounds of the Portsmouth Association.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

go to See also Albemarle Parish
go to See also Lawnes Creek Parish
go to See also Southwark Parish

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Surry County is available online.[8]

  • Bell, Landon Covington. Albemarle Parish. Richmond, Virginia: Self-published, 1950.
  • Boddie, John Bennett. Births, Deaths and Sponsors, 1717 - 1778 from the Albemarle Parish Register of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1958, 1964. Reprint edition, Baltimore, MD: Clearfield, 1998. FHL Collection; digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson, and Andrew Wilburn Hogwood. Albemarle Parish Vestry Book, 1742-1786, Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore: Clearfield, 2005.
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. FHL Collection; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online
  • Richards, Gertrude R.B. Register of Albemarle Parish, Surry and Sussex Counties, 1739-1778. Richmond, Virginia: National Society Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Virignia, 1958. Reprint edition, Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1984.
Quaker[edit | edit source]

Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

Friends from Surry County, Virginia also attended the Chuckatuck Monthly Meeting in Nansemond County, Virginia.[12]

  • Brown, Jane Douglas Summers and Jones Memorial Library. Jane Douglas Summers Brown (1903-) Quaker Records: Jones Memorial Library (Lynchburg, Virginia); MS 1515. MSS, Jones Memorial Library, Lynchburg, Va. Available on 26 microfilms at FHL. [Includes records of Surry County Quakers; Brown assisted "William Wade Hinshaw in the writing of the Virginia volume of the Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy."]

Court[edit | edit source]

County Court

  • Davis, Eliza Timberlake. Surry County Records, Surry County, Virginia, 1652-1684. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1980.
  • Davis, Eliza Timberlake and Robert Barnes. Surry County Records. [1652-1684] 195-?; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1995. Original edition available at FHL US/CAN Film 483733 Item 2; reprint available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5562 P2de; digital version at Ancestry ($)' and World Vital Records ($). [Includes court, land, and probate records.]
  • Haun, Weynette Parks. Surry County, Virginia Court Records. Durham, North Carolina: Self-published, 1986.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

More than 400 genealogies have been published about Surry County families. To view a list, visit Surry County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

Immigration[edit | edit source]

Headright grants identify many Surry County, Virginia Genealogy immigrants who arrived before 1720.[13] The Virginia Immigration article provides tips about using this source.

Additional resources include:

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. "Some Surry County, Virginia, Colonists, 1678-1705," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1979):255-258. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [Arrival lists of indentured servants who appear in Surry County Court Order Books.]
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Surry County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Deeds

  • Davis, Eliza Timberlake and Robert Barnes. Surry County Records. [1652-1684] 195-?; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1995. Original edition: FHL US/CAN Film 483733 Item 2; reprint: FHL US/CAN Book 975.5562 P2de; digital version at Ancestry ($) and World Vital Records ($). [Includes court, land, and probate records.]
  • Hart, Lyndon H. III. Surry County, Virginia, Wills, Estate Accounts, and Inventories, 1730-1900. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1983.
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Surry County, Virginia Deeds, 1684-1733. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Co., 1994.
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Surry County, Virginia Deeds and Expense Accounts, 1757-1786. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Co., 1995.

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Hudgins. 592 patents dated 1619-1788 in what is now Surry County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2001. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Surry County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.]

Quit Rent Rolls

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Colonial Surry. Richmond, Virginia: Dietz Press, 1948. Reprint edition, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1966.
  • Lawrence-Dow, Elizabeth. Autographs of 65 Gentlemen Justices, Militia Officers and Members of the Grand Jury from Charles City, Prince George and Surry Counties Who Signed an Oath of Loyalty to Protestant King William III of England in March 1701/2. Richmond, Virginia: Dietz Press, 1976.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Charles City CountyJames City CountyIsle of Wight CountySouthampton CountySussex CountyPrince George CountyVA SURRY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Colonial Militia[edit | edit source]
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Surry County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Surry County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.]
French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Surry County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Surry County, see p. 101.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Surry County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Surry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Surry County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment

Additional resources:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Surry County on page 133.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]

Surry County men served in the 71st Regiment.[14]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Surry County, p. 105. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Surry County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Surry County, Virginia Genealogy:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Surry Light Artillery).[15]
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate).[16]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12th Months, 1861-62) (Confederate). Company G (The Surry Cavalry) and Company K.[17]
- 37th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Dunn's Battalion, Partisan Rangers) (Confederate). Company F; men possibly recruited in Surry County, North Carolina.[18]

Records and histories are available, including:

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Native Americans[edit | edit source]

The Powchay-icks Tribe and the Weyenoakes Tribe lived in the area in the late 1600s.[19]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Surry County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

A free index to Surry County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1652-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.


Private Papers[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Surry County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Online Probate Links

Taxation[edit | edit source]

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • [1668] "Census of Tithables in Surry County in the Year 1668," William and Mary College Quarterly, 1st Series, Vol. 8 (1900):160-164. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • [1668] Alphabetical List of Surry County Tithables taken 10 June 1668 in Southwarke Parish (VAGenWeb) - free.
  • [1668-1703] Surry County Tax Payers 1668-1703 (VAGenWeb) - free.
  • [1668-1703] MacDonald, Edgar and Richard Slatten. Surry County (Virginia) Tithables, 1668-1703. Baltimore, Maryland: Clearfield, 2007. Available at FHL. Information at Genealogical.com.
  • [1668-1670] Tithables, 1668, 1669, 1670, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 1984. Vol. 22 Iss. 1.
  • [1673] Annual co. levy, unlawful assembly, advices, 1673, Colonial Williamsburg. Williamsburg VA: Spring 2003. Vol. 25 Iss. 1.
  • [1673-1675] Tithables, 1673, 1674, 1675, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: May 1984. Vol. 22 Iss. 2.
  • [1677-1679] Tithables, 1677, 1678, 1679, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Aug 1984. Vol. 22 Iss. 3.
  • [1678] Alphabetical List of Surry County Tithables taken 7 June 1678 from Sunken Marsh to the upper end of Surry County (VAGenWeb) - free.
  • [1680-1682] Tithables, 1680, 1681, 1682, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Nov 1984. Vol. 22 Iss. 4.
  • [1683-1685] Tithables, 1683, 1684, 1685, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 1985. Vol. 23 Iss. 1.
  • [1686-1688] Tithables, 1686, 1687, 1688, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: May 1985. Vol. 23 Iss. 2.
  • [1689-1691] Tithables, 1689, 1690, 1691, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Aug 1985. Vol. 23 Iss. 3.
  • [1692-1694] Tithables, 1692, 1693, 1694, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Nov 1985. Vol. 23 Iss. 4.
  • [1695-1697] Tithables, 1695, 1696, 1697, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 1986. Vol. 24 Iss. 1.
  • [1698-1700] Tithables, 1698, 1699, 1700, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: May 1986. Vol. 24 Iss. 2.
  • [1701-1703] Tithables, 1701, 1702, 1703, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Aug 1986. Vol. 24 Iss. 3.
  • [1704] "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [Surry County appears in 29:18-28.]
  • [1782-1841] Partial Tax Records for Surry County, VA from 1782 to 1841 - free.
  • [1782-1821] Heinegg, Paul. "Surry County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1816," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • [1783] - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • [1787] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Surry County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • [1790, 1800] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Surry County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1790, 1799] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1799 Land Tax Lists of Surry County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Surry County is included in Vol. 3.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Surry County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
  • 1717-1778 - Boddie, John Bennett. Births, Deaths and Sponsors, 1717 - 1778 from the Albemarle Parish Register of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore, MD: Clearfield, 1998. Available at FHL. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • 1853-1896 - Surry County Birth Index 1853-1896. Batch C868684 at FamilySearch - free.[20]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
  • 1768-1825 - Knorr, Catherine Lindsay. Marriage Bonds and Ministers' Returns of Surry County, Virginia, 1768-1825. Pine Bluff, Arkansas: C.L. Knorr, 1960. FHL.
  • 1768-1853 - County Marriage Index 1768-1853. Batch M868683 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1770s-1780s - Crozier, William Armstrong. Early Virginia Marriages. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1953. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Surry County marriages 1770s-1780s.
  • 1853-1939 - Surry County Marriage Index 1853-1939. Batch M868684 at FamilySearch - free.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Virginia, Surry County Marriage Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.

Surry County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Surry County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.surrycountyva.gov/299/History
  2. http://surrycountytourism.com/
  3. 3.0 3.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Surry County, Virginia. Page 721 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Surry County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  5. Wikipedia Contributors, "Surry County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surry_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 6, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  7. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 442-443. Digital version at Google Books.
  8. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  9. 9.0 9.1 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  11. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  12. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  13. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Cavaliers and Pioneers," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1980):221. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 24 (1980)
  14. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 202. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  15. Lee A. Wallace, 3rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 22.
  16. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  17. Daniel T. Balfour, 13th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 26.
  18. J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
  19. Charles Campbell, History of the Colony and Ancient Dominion of Virginia (Philadelphia, Pa.: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1860), 267-268. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  20. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.