To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Surnadal Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Surnadal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Surnadal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Surendalen
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Surendalen
Fogderi Nordmør
Sorenskriveri Nordmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Surnadal clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Øye, Skei (Ranes) and Mo in Surnadal clerical district. Included Rindal parish until 1857. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1750-1930.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Surnadal: 1750-1884

Surnadal / Mo: 1866-1930

Surnadal / Ranes: 1891-1944

Surnadal / Øye: 1885-1919

Surnadal / Øye, Ranes: 1866-1891

Rindal: 1858-1944

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666.  The 1664-1666 census for Surnadal clerical district include the parishes of Surnadal, Rindal, Mo, Ranes, and Øye and is available on  microfilm at the Family History Library. 


  • Manntall 1701 : optatt av fogd, sorenskriver og sogneprest ifølge kongebrev av den 26 Juli 1701.  The 1701 census for Surnadal clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.


  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Surnadal clerical district include the parishes of Surnadal, Ranes, Rindal, Mo, and Øye and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Aslo available online at Digital Archives.




  • Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 18751875 census for Surnadal clerical district include the parishes of Surnadal, Mo, Ranes, Øye and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.



Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1877: Probates are found in Nordmøre judicial district.

1697-1812: Clerical probates are found in Nordmøre Deanery