To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sund Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Sund, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Sund Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Sund
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Sund
Fogderi Nordhordland
Sorenskriveri Midthordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Sund prestegjeld(clerical district).  Contains the parish registers for Sund parish with Kausland chapel. Included Fjell parish and Askøy (which at the time was an annex under Fjell) to 1813. Fjell was then together with Sund in 1819 and Askøy under the jurisdiction of the priest of St. Jørgens Hospital until 1842 when they both became the new "Fjell and Askøy sognekall" which lasted until 1871 when they both became their own clerical districts. Included also Austevoll and Møkster parishes until 1910. According to tradition in the area some of the church books were ruined by a dog.  Records are available from 1729-1881.

Images of digitized parish registers are available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Sund: 1729-1928

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Census Fogdens og sorenskriverens manntall Nordhordland Fogderi Sund clerical district included Askøy, Møkster, Austevoll, Fjell and Sund parishes. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Fillm 122979 Item 4, at Digititalarkivet as scanned images.
  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall Nordhordland Prosti Sund clerical district included Sund, Fjell, and Austevoll parishes. This census was taken by the local parish priests. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Fillm 122972 Item 1, at Digititalarkivet as scanned images and as a database.
  • 1865 Census Sund clerical district included Sund, Austevoll and Møkster parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 123071 Item 3 It is online as a database at Digitalarkivet 1865-telling for 1245 Sund

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Søreide, Oddvar Magne, 1961-: Bygdebok for Skoge: dei gav oss ein arn: bygde- og ættesoge for Skoge år 900-2000. Farm histories and vital information on farm residents i Skoge, Sund Community, Hordaland Co., Norway from year 900 to 2000. FHL 948.32/S4 D2

Asphaug, Arne, 1954-; Drageland, Svein Olaf, 1955-: Bygdebok for Varøy: eit øysamfunn i havgapet. History and genealogies of people living on the Island Community of Vardøy in Sund, Hordaland co., Norway. FHL 948.32/S4 D2

Skogseth, Arvid, 1952-; Fyllingsnes, Frode: Sund på søre Sotra.

Farm histories and history of the Municipality of Sund, Norway. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Contents: v. 1. Gards- og slektssoge gnr. 1-gnr. 12 -- v. 2. Gards- og slektssoge gnr. 13-gnr. 22 -- v. 3. Gards- og slektssoge gnr. 23 - gnr. 31. FHL 948.32/S4 D2. To view a digital version of vol. 2 click here

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

51 Angskots Lakseverp

28 Bakke 41 Bastdalen 29 Berge 24 Berget 2 Bjelkerøen 3 Bukken 41 Bøen 9 Børnes nedre 8 Børnesvaagen

11 Dalen 31 Dalen 46 Dommedal

43 Eide 30 Eidesund 33 Elven

15 Faarland 11 Førde

15 Garen 33 Garen 33 Glesnes 32 Glesnesholmen 35 Golten nedre

15 Haakensund 45 Hammersland 27 Hamre 17 Haugen 31 Haugen 33 Haugen 33 Haugene 41 Haugene 17 Hummelsund 12 Høiland 12 Høilandsjøen 12 Høilandskjæret

42 Kaarevik 31 Kausland 14 Kleppe 13 Kleppestø 13 Kleppeviken 5 Klokkerviken 37 Kvithaugen

4 Lerøen 7 Limevaagen

33 Midgaren 11 Mjelkeviken 37 Myren

40 Nipen 6 Nygaard 39 Nygaard 31 Nygaren

47 Sangolt lille 36 Selstø 49 Skage 50 Skoge 52 Skrotholmens Lakseverp 41 Spilde 26 Steinsland 37 Stikholmen 33 Storegaren 11 Strømmen 10 Stølen 5 Sund 16 Sæle

25 Toft nordre 23 Tofteraa 22 Trælevik 33 Tuen 38 Tveite midtre 44 Tveite søndre 37 Tveite øvre 21 Tynnevik 1 Tyssøen 39 Tæle

32 Vaatemyren 19 Varøen 18 Viksen 32 Volden 30 Vorland

20 Øpsøen

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1702-1848: Records are found in Nordhordaland, 1702-1910 judicial district.

1848-1895: Records are found in Midhordaland judicial district which was created from Nordhordaland.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names