Sumter County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sumter County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Sumter County

Guide to Sumter County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Sumter County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Sumter County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded 26 December, 1831
County Seat Americus
Courthouse
Address Sumter County Courthouse
PO Box 295
Americus, GA 31709-0295
Phone: 912.924.3090 
Sumter County Website


County Information

Sumter County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Sumter County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1831

1840
1831
1831


County Courthouse

Sumter County Courthouse
PO Box 295
Americus, GA 31709-0295
Phone: 912.924.3090 

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records. Probate Court has marriage and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1831[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 333
500 W. Lamar St., Suite. 1
Americus, GA 31709
Telephone: (229) 928-4537
Fax: (229) 928-4539

Probate Court of Sumter County
P.O. Box 246
Americus, GA 31709
Telephone: 229-928-4551

History

Parent County

1831--Sumter County was created 26 December 1831 from Lee County. County seat:  Americus [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crisp County  • Dooly County  • Lee County  • Macon County  • Marion County  • Schley County  • Terrell County  • Webster County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sumter, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Sumter County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Mount Zion Church

  • 1797, 1828-1880 - Mount Zion Church Baptism Index 1797, 1828-1880. Batch C713731 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1836-1956 - Mount Zion Church Marriage Index 1836-1956. Batch M713731 at FamilySearch - free.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sumter County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gasumter.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Sumter County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sumter County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 10th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Sumter County). 1961. Confederate soldiers and widows pension rolls, 1903-1952. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 231664
  • Andersonville, Georgia. Andersonville Prisoner of War Database. Andersonville, GA, USA: National Park Service, Andersonville National Historic Site. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Clavreul, H. Diary of Rev. H. Clavreul: With the Names of Dying Federal Soldiers to Whom He Ministered at Andersonville, Ga. July and August, 1864. Waterbury, Conn.: Connecticut Association of Ex-prisoners of War, 1910. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sumter County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Sumter Historic Trust
318 East Church Street Americus
GA 31709
Telephone Number: 229-924-1163

National Society of Andersonville
PO Box 65
Andersonville, GA 31711
Telephone Number: 229-924-7228

Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 4672
Albany, GA 31706
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sumter County, Georgia. Page 160 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 52-53. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.