Summit County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Summit County, Ohio ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Akron
Organized: April 6, 1840[1]
Parent County(s): Medina, Portage, Stark[2]
Neighboring Counties
Cuyahoga  • Geauga  • Portage  • Stark  • Wayne  • Medina
See County Maps
Courthouse
Summit County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Summit County.PNG
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county is named for the highest elevation on the Ohio and Erie Canal which is located in the county. Summit county is located in the North-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Summit County Courthouse
205 S High St
Akron, OH 44308
Phone: 330-643-2162
Summit County Courthouse

County Recorder has land records from 1840
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records[4]

Summit County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1866 1840 1870 1840 1840 1839 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [8]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Summit County, Ohio online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 22,560
1850 27,485 21.8%
1860 27,344 −0.5%
1870 34,674 26.8%
1880 43,788 26.3%
1890 54,089 23.5%
1900 71,715 32.6%
1910 108,253 50.9%
1920 286,065 164.3%
1930 344,131 20.3%
1940 339,405 −1.4%
1950 410,032 20.8%
1960 513,569 25.3%
1970 553,371 7.8%
1980 524,472 −5.2%
1990 514,990 −1.8%
2000 542,899 5.4%
2010 541,781 −0.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Akron

Historical Churches

Current Churches

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Jewish

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for this county. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Ohio Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Cuyahoga CountyGeauga CountyPortage CountyStark CountyWayne CountyMedina CountyOH SUMMIT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Civil War service men from Summit County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Summit County.

-1st Regiment, Ohio Light Artillery, Battery D
-104th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company H
-107th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company I

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Summit County newspapers often contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Ohio newspaper information see Ohio Newspapers and Obituaries.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the Summit County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.

Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Summit County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Summit County. For state-wide library facilities, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Akron-Summit County Public Library
Main library
60 S High St
Akron, OH 44326
330-643-9000
Website

Herrick Memorial Library
101 Willard Memorial Square
Wellington, OH 44090
440-647-2120
Website

Barberton Public Library
602 W Park Ave
Barberton, OH 44203-2458
330-745-1194
Website

Cuyahoga Falls Library
2015 Third St
Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221
330-928-2117
Website

Hudson Library and Historical Society
96 Library St
Hudson, OH 44236-2947
330-653-6658
Website

Peninsula Library
6105 Riverview Road
PO Box 236
Peninsula, OH 44264-0236
330-657-2291
Website

Stow-Munroe Falls Public Library
3512 Darrow Rd
Stow, OH 44224
330-688-3295
Website

Twinsburg Public Library
10050 Ravenna Rd
Twinsburg, OH 44087-1796
330-425-4268
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Cuyahoga Valley Historical Museum
1775 Main St
2nd Floor
Peninsula, OH 44264
Website

Summit County Historical Society of Akron, OH
Perkins Stone Mansion
John Brown House
Portage Township School District No. 2
550 Copley Rd
Akron, OH 44320
330-535-1120
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Summit County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Ohio Societies.

Western Reserve Historical Society
Research Library in the History Center
10825 East Blvd
Cleveland, OH 44106
216-721-5722
FamilySearch Wiki
Website

Summit County Chapter Ohio Genealogical Society
PO Box 2232
Akron, OH 44309-2232
Email:info@summitogs.org
Website

The Historical Society of Olde Northfield
9390 Olde Eight Rd
Northfield Center, OH
Email:Palmer-House@hson.info
Website

Peninsula Library & Historical Society
6105 Riverview Rd
PO Box 236
Peninsula, OH 44264
E-mail:info@peninsulalibrary.org
Website

Hudson Genealogical Study Group
a chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society
E-mail:HGSG1986@gmail.com
Website

Richfield Historical Society
3907 Broadview Rd
Richfield, OH 44286
330-659-0336
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  2. Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Summit County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/summit/ accessed 2/27/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  7. Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Summit County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Summit_County,_Ohio, accessed 16 January 2019.