To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Summers County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Summers County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hinton
Organized: February 27, 1871
Parent County(s): Monroe, Mercer, Greenbrier, Fayette[1]
Neighboring Counties
Fayette  • Giles (VA)  • Greenbrier  • Mercer  • Monroe  • Raleigh
See County Maps
Courthouse
Summers County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-summers.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for George W. Summers. The County has Hinton as its seat and the County was created February 27, 1871. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Summers County Courthouse
P O Box 97
Hinton, WV 25951
Phone: 304-466-7104
Summers County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate and land records from 1871.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[3]

Summers County, West Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1871 1871 1871 1871 1871 1871 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Summers County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1880 9,033
1890 13,117 45.2%
1900 16,265 24.0%
1910 18,429 13.3%
1920 19,092 3.6%
1930 20,469 7.2%
1940 20,409 −0.3%
1950 19,183 −6.0%
1960 15,640 −18.5%
1970 13,213 −15.5%
1980 15,875 20.1%
1990 14,204 −10.5%
2000 12,999 −8.5%
2010 13,927 7.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Summers census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Summers County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Cottle, George. History of Forest Hill Community, Summers County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, n. d. (On-line version).Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: C6.

Graham C. History of Clayton Community, Summers County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1923.(On-line version). Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: G7.

Lively, Lester. History of Summers County''. s. l., n. p., n. d. 975.476 L784 Pam.

Long, Fred. Historic Pence Springs Resort. s. l., n. p., 1983.917.5476 L848.

Maddy, W. T. History of Marie Community, Summers and Monroe Counties, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1925.(On-line version).Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: M3.

Miller, James Henry. History of Summers County From the Earliest Settlement to the Present Time. Hinton, West Virginia, n. p., 1908.975.476 M648.

Nyden, Paul J. Thirty Oral History Transcripts About the New River Region in Fayette, Raleigh and Summers Counties, West Virginia. Beckley, West Virginia, Paul Nyden, 1980.

Summers County World War Veterans. s. l., n. p., n. d.940.546775 S955 Pam.

Woods, Clee. West Virginia Was Good. Charleston, West Virginia, Mountain State Press, 1984.
975.476 Wood.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Fayette CountyGreenbrier CountyMonroe CountyGiles CountyMercer CountyRaleigh CountyWV SUMMERS.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here;Assessor and Property Tax

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Summers County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Summers_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Summers County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Summers County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Summers_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 29 August 2018.