Summers County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Summers County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
The County was named for George W. Summers. The County has Hinton as its seat and the County was created February 27, 1871. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Summers County Courthouse
P O Box 97
Hinton, WV 25951
Summers County Website
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate and land records from 1871.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Summers County, West Virginia Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
For tips on accessing Summers census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Hudgins. 226 patents dated 1784-1862 in what is now Summers County, West Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.
Local histories are available for Summers County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.
- History of Summers County from the Earliest Settlement to Present Time. Google Books
- Early History of Summers County
- Summers County, West Virginia
- Hinton, Summers County, West Virginia New River Gorge
- Welcome to Hinton, West Virginia
- Summers County Cyclopedia
- Welcome to Summers County, West Virginia
Cottle, George. History of Forest Hill Community, Summers County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, n. d. (On-line version).Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: C6.
Graham C. History of Clayton Community, Summers County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1923.(On-line version). Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: G7.
Lively, Lester. History of Summers County''. s. l., n. p., n. d. 975.476 L784 Pam.
Long, Fred. Historic Pence Springs Resort. s. l., n. p., 1983.917.5476 L848.
Maddy, W. T. History of Marie Community, Summers and Monroe Counties, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1925.(On-line version).Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: M3.
Miller, James Henry. History of Summers County From the Earliest Settlement to the Present Time. Hinton, West Virginia, n. p., 1908.975.476 M648.
Nyden, Paul J. Thirty Oral History Transcripts About the New River Region in Fayette, Raleigh and Summers Counties, West Virginia. Beckley, West Virginia, Paul Nyden, 1980.
Summers County World War Veterans. s. l., n. p., n. d.940.546775 S955 Pam.
Woods, Clee. West Virginia Was Good. Charleston, West Virginia, Mountain State Press, 1984.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Maps of West Virginia (1617-1995)
- Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
- Summers County, West Virginia 1895
- Map of Summers County West Virginia and Vicinity
- 1861-1865 West Virginia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry— index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry— index (free)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Online Probate Records
- 1724-1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1756-1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854-1969 Summers County, West Virginia Will Books 1854-1969
- West Virginia Will Books
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here;Assessor and Property Tax
- West Virginia Vital Records, 1865-1969 (varies) - Includes birth, death, and marriage.
- Summers County, Death Records, USGENWEB
- Summers County West Virginia Marriage Record Archives
- Summers County, West Virginia Deaths 1906-1920 $
- 1780-1970 - West Virginia Marriages, 1780-1970 at FamilySearch — index
- 1801-1962 - West Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Summers County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Summers County WV Gen Web Genealogy Home Pages
- Summers County USGENWEB Archives Project
- Summers County Photos
- Summers County Great Bend Tunnel
- Summers County, West Virginia Family History & Genealogy
- Wecome to Summers County WV History and Genealogy
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Wikipedia contributors, "Summers County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Summers_County,_West_Virginia."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Summers County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Summers County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Summers_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 29 August 2018.