Sullivan County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Sullivan County

Guide to Sullivan County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Milan
Organized: February 14, 1845
Parent County(s): Linn[1]
Neighboring Counties
Adair  • Grundy  • Linn  • Macon  • Mercer  • Putnam
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriSullivanCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Sullivan County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for John Sullivan. The county has Milan as its seat and the county was created 1843. The County is located in the north central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Sullivan County Courthouse
109 N Main Street
Milan, MO 63556
Phone: 660-265-3786
Sullivan County Website

Recorder of Deeds has incomplete birth records 1867-1895, marriage and land records from 1845, death records 1883-1896.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1845.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1845.[3]

Sullivan County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1845 1883 1845 1845 1845 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

1908 Fire destroyed the courthouse June 26, 1908.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1843 Sullivan County was created February 17, 1843 from Linn County.
  • County seat: Milan[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Sullivan County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Missouri Digital Heritage

  • 1795 - The area now known as Sullivan County was claimed by the Missouris.
  • 1836 - The first white settlers came to the county.
  • 1842 - Settlements now existed along all the streams of the northern part of the County. These settlements were grouped according to the localities of the immigrants.
  • 1845 February 14 - Sullivan County was founded.
  • 1845 May 6 - Sullivan County was divided into townships.
  • 1849 - The Chariton Land District was established.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sullivan County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Sullivan County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
Milan

  • 1870-1872 Milan Catholic Church Baptism Index 1870-1872. Batch C511541 at FamilySearch.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sullivan County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Adair, Sullivan, Putnam and Schuyler Counties, Missouri. 1888. Chicago, Illinois : Goodspeed Pub. Co. Available online at FamilySearch
  • The Milan Standard Souvenir Edition. By John N. Shepler. 1895. Milan, Mo. : [Milan Standard]. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

Schuyler CountyAdair CountyMacon CountyLinn CountyLivingston CountyGrundy CountyMercer CountyPutnam CountyMO SULLIVAN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Sullivan County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sullivan County, Missouri:

- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C

- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sullivan County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Sullivan County Historical Society
    117 North Water Street
    Milan, MO 63556-1023
    Website

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Sullivan County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sullivan_County,_Missouri, accessed 17 Sept 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sullivan County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.