Stuntney, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Stuntney, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ely|
|Parish registers: 1545; For more records see Ely Holy Trinity|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
STUNTNEY, a chapelry in Ely-Trinity parish, Cambridge; 1½ mile SE of Ely railway station.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Stuntney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Stuntney Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
A Transcription of the 1841 UK Census is available at Archives.org. the remining censuses for Stuntney are part of Ely, which comprises both Ely Holy Trinity and Ely St. Mary. Ely Trinity contains the chaplery of Stuntney. The first mircofilm at the Family History Library is 193656.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stuntney on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.